Iowa Judicial Branch
About the Courts
Supreme Court
Court of Appeals
Court of Appeals Judges
Chief Judge David Danilson
Judge Gayle Nelson Vogel
Judge Anuradha Vaitheswaran
Judge Amanda Potterfield
Judge Richard H. Doyle
Judge Mary Tabor
Judge Michael R. Mullins
Judge Thomas N. Bower
Judge Christopher McDonald
Senior Judges
Past Court of Appeals Judges
Court of Appeals Opinions
2017 Court Calendar
Oral Argument Schedule
Request for Speaker
District Courts
Juvenile Court
Business Court
Small Claims Courts
Jury Service
Advisory Committees

Judges of the Iowa Court of Appeals 


The Iowa Court of Appeals is composed of nine judges.  Appointments to the court are made by the governor from a list of nominees submitted by the State Judicial Nominating Commission.  To be considered for appointment a person must be an attorney licensed to practice in Iowa.    


A court of appeals judge serves an initial term of office that is one year after appointment and until January 1 following the next judicial retention election after expiration of such year.  The regular term of office of judges retained at election is six years.  A judge must retire upon reaching the age of 72.  A retired judge may serve as a senior judge if assigned by the supreme court to the senior judge program. 


Every two years, the court of appeals judges elect the chief judge of the court of appeals.  The chief judge serves as the administrative head of the court. 


Follow us on Twitter - @IowaCourts return to top