Iowa Judicial Branch
About the Courts
Supreme Court
Court of Appeals
Court of Appeals Judges
Chief Judge David Danilson
Judge Gayle Nelson Vogel
Judge Anuradha Vaitheswaran
Judge Amanda Potterfield
Judge Richard H. Doyle
Judge Mary Tabor
Judge Michael R. Mullins
Judge Thomas N. Bower
Judge Christopher McDonald
Senior Judges
Past Court of Appeals Judges
Court of Appeals Opinions
2017 Court Calendar
Oral Argument Schedule
Request for Speaker
District Courts
Juvenile Court
Business Court
Small Claims Courts
Jury Service
Advisory Committees

Court of Appeals, Judge Christopher Lee McDonald   


Judge McDonald, Des Moines, was appointed to the Iowa Court of Appeals in September 2013.  He was born in Bangkok, Thailand.  Judge McDonald earned his undergraduate degree from Grand View University in 1997 and his law degree from the University of Iowa College of Law in 2001, where he graduated with highest distinction and received Order of the Coif recognition.  After graduation, he served as a law clerk to the Honorable David R. Hansen, United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.  Prior to being appointed to the Iowa Court of Appeals, Judge McDonald served as a Judge of the District Court, Fifth Judicial District of Iowa.  Prior to commencing service on the bench, Judge McDonald worked in private practice in Central Iowa.    

Judge McDonald is a member of the American Bar Association, Iowa State Bar Association, Polk County Bar Association, and the Iowa Judges Association. 

Follow us on Twitter - @IowaCourts return to top