Iowa Judicial Branch
 
About the Courts
Supreme Court
Court of Appeals
District Courts
Expedited Civil Actions
Discovery Amendments
District Court Resources
Post Judgment Interest Table
Uniform Bond Schedule
Criminal Statutes Summary Chart
District One
District Two
District Three
District Four
District Five
District Six
District Seven
District Eight
Juvenile Court
Business Court
Small Claims Courts
Jury Service
Directories
Advisory Committees

Uniform Bond Schedule

Iowa law provides that under certain circumstances, an arrested person may be released pending an initial appearance if the release is pursuant to pre-trial release procedures or a bond schedule approved by the judicial council. The bond schedule is applicable only when both of the following conditions are met:

1. If the person was arrested for a crime other than a forcible felony, and

2. The courts are not in session.

Upon an arrested person being seen by a judicial officer, the judicial officer will exercise discretion in setting bond in accordance with the factors set forth in Iowa Code section 811.2, and the judicial officer is not to be bound by the uniform bond schedule the Judicial Council has established for use when court is not in session.

Uniform Bond Schedule (effective until July 1, 2017)

  • Violation of §124.401(1)(a) & (b) (class "B" felony charge for manufacture or delivery of certain controlled substances, counterfeit substances, or substitute substances, including heroin, cocaine, and meth)—$100,000.
  • Violation of §124.401(1)(c) (class "C" felony charge for the above type crimes)—$50,000
  • Other class "B" felony—$25,000
  • Other class "C" felony—$10,000
  • Class "D" felony—$5,000
  • Aggravated misdemeanor—$2,000
  • Serious misdemeanor—$1,000
  • Simple misdemeanor (non-scheduled violation)—$300
  • Scheduled violations—amount established in State of Iowa Compendium of Scheduled Violations and Scheduled Fines

Uniform Bond Schedule (effective July 1, 2017)

  • Any class “B” felony—$25,000
  • Any class “C” felony—$10,000
  • Any class “D” felony—$5,000
  • Aggravated misdemeanor—$2,000
  • Serious misdemeanor—$1,000
  • Simple misdemeanor—$300
  • Traffic and other scheduled violations of Iowa Code sections 805.6
  • through 805.16—amount set forth in the State of Iowa Compendium of Scheduled Violations and Scheduled Fines.

Bond may not be set for persons arrested for the following crimes until they have been seen by a judicial officer:

  • Forcible felony crimes, as defined in Iowa Code Section 702.11.
  • Manufacture, delivery, possession with intent to manufacture or deliver, or distribution of methamphetamine under Iowa
  • Code section 124.401, as provided for in Iowa Code section
  • 804.21(1).
  • Stalking, pursuant to Iowa Code section 708.11(5).
  • Persons arrested or taken into custody pursuant to any of the following Iowa Code sections: 236.11, 236.12, 236A.12, and 664A.3.
  • Persons arrested or taken into custody pursuant to Iowa Code sections 236.11 or 236.12.
  • Persons arrested or taken into custody for intimidation with a dangerous weapon in violation of Iowa Code section 708.6.
  • Persons arrested or taken into custody for possession of a firearm by a felon in violation of Iowa Code section 724.26(1).

Upon an arrested person being seen by a judicial officer, the judicial officer will exercise discretion in setting bond in accordance with the factors set forth in Iowa Code section 811.2, and the judicial officer is not to be bound by the uniform bond schedule the Judicial Council has established for use when court is not in session.

Follow us on Twitter - @IowaCourts return to top