Iowa Judicial Branch
About the Courts
Supreme Court
Supreme Court Justices
Chief Justice Mark S. Cady
Justice David S. Wiggins
Justice Daryl L. Hecht
Justice Brent R. Appel
Justice Thomas D. Waterman
Justice Edward M. Mansfield
Justice Bruce B. Zager
Past Iowa Supreme Court Justices
Interviews with Past Iowa Supreme Court Justices
Supreme Court Opinions
Further Review Orders
Oral Argument Schedule
Case Timeline
2017-18 Court Calendar
Oral Argument Videos
Constitution Day
Hoover High School
2017 State of the Judiciary
Request for Speaker
Court of Appeals
District Courts
Juvenile Court
Business Court
Small Claims Courts
Jury Service
Advisory Committees

Justices of the Iowa Supreme Court


The Iowa Supreme Court is composed of seven justices.  Appointments to the court are made by the governor from a list of nominees submitted by the State Judicial Nominating Commission.  To be considered for appointment a person must be an attorney licensed to practice in Iowa. 


A justice serves an initial term of office that is one year after appointment and until January 1 following the next judicial retention election after expiration of such year.  The regular term of office of justices retained at election is eight years.  A justice must retire upon reaching the age of 72.  A retired justice may serve as a senior judge if assigned by the court to the senior judge program. 


Chief Justice 


The justices elect the chief justice.  The term of chief justice corresponds with the term of the justice serving in that capacity. 


Follow us on Twitter - @IowaCourts return to top