Information about Jury Service in Henry County Court
Location of courthouse: 100 East Washington Street, Mt. Pleasant, IA 52641
Courthouse hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday, Wednesday, Friday
8:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m., Tuesday and Thursday
Contact Information: Linda Fear, Clerk of Court
Phone number: 319-385-3150
Check trial status information: 319-385-4203
Where to park: Parking available on the East, South and West sides of Courthouse.
Courthouse security information: No weapons of any kind will be allowed in the Courthouse. Cellular phones are to be turned off and no use of recording devices or cellular phone cameras is permitted. For further information, please contact clerks’ office at 319-385-3150.
Contact for ADA accommodations: Handicap parking available in the parking lot located on the south side of the courthouse, where there also is handicap access to the building. A handicap elevator and handicap accessible restrooms are located on the bottom floor. If you require the assistance of auxiliary aids or services to participate in Court because of a disability, immediately call your District ADA Coordinator at 641-684-6502. (If you are hearing impaired, call Relay Iowa TTY at 1-800-735-2942)
Inside the courthouse – where to report for jury service: Please report to the District Courtroom located on the 3rd floor.
What to wear to court: Please report for jury service wearing respectable clothes. As a general rule, business or business casual clothing is acceptable. The following types of clothing are not suitable for court proceedings: shorts, tube tops, halter tops, clothing that contains any obscene, suggestive or inflammatory print or images, and clothes that are overly dirty or ragged.
Absences/Emergencies: Juror with unexcused absences will be subject to contempt of court sanctions. For further information, please contact Clerk’s office at 319-385-3150
Travel, mileage and other expenses: Jurors are reimbursed for travel to and from the courthouse at a rate approved by the supreme court. For additional questions, please contact the Clerk’s Office at 641-385-3150.
Compensation: Pursuant to state law, you will be paid $30 a day for each day of jury service up to seven days; $50 a day for eight or more days of service. You may waive the right to compensation, which will help reduce the state’s cost of operating the court system.
PLEASE COMPLETE AND RETURN QUESTIONNAIRE TO CLERK OF COURTS OFFICE WITHIN 7 DAYS OF RECEIPT.