Information about Jury Service in Ringgold
County District Court
Location of courthouse and directions: The Ringgold County Courthouse is located at 109 West Madison, Mount Ayr, Iowa.
From Highway IA-2 into Mount
Ayr, turn north onto South Taylor Street and head north until
you reach the square (about 3 blocks). The
courthouse is located on city square which is a one-way street around the
Courthouse hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Contact information: Donna Stephens, Acting
Clerk of Court at 641-464-3234
Check trial status information: Call 641-464-3234 after 4:30 p.m. the
day before trial and wait for option 4.
Message will give trial status.
Where to park: Around the square on any side. Parking is free.
Courthouse security information: Individuals are subject to search before entering courtroom
at the discretion of law enforcement.
Contact for ADA
accommodations: If you require the assistance of
auxiliary aids or services to participate in court because of a disability,
immediately call your district ADA
coordinator at 515-286-3394. (If you are
hearing impaired, call Relay Iowa TTY at 1-800-735-2942.)
Inside the courthouse—where to report
for jury service: Report for jury duty to the 2nd
Floor Courtroom. A clerk will check you
What to wear to court:
Please report for jury service wearing respectable clothes. As a general rule, business or business
casual clothing is acceptable. The following
types of clothing are not suitable for court proceedings: shorts, tube tops, halter tops, clothing that
contains any obscene, suggestive or inflammatory print or images, and clothes
that are overly dirty or ragged.
Absences/Emergencies: Report absences to the Clerk of Court's office at
641-464-3234. Report Emergencies to the Ringgold County Sheriff at 641-464-3921.
Travel, mileage and other expenses: Jurors are reimbursed for travel to and from residence to
the courthouse at a rate approved by the supreme court.
Pursuant to state law, you will be paid $30 a day for each day of jury
service up to seven days; $50 a day for eight or more days of service. You may waive the right to compensation,
which will help reduce the state's cost of operating the court system.
information will be provided to you in an orientation program the first day you
report. Questions can also be answered
by the Clerk's office at 641-464-3234.