Information about Jury Service in Marshall
County District Court
Location of courthouse and directions: Corner of Main and Center
Streets, Marshalltown, Iowa (4th Floor of Marshall
Click here for Courthouse
Contact information: Jury Coordinator
Check trial status information:
Where to park: Street
Contact for ADA accommodations: Call Clerk at 641-754-1608
Inside the courthouse—where to report
for jury service:
What to wear to court:
Please report for jury service wearing respectable clothes. As a general rule, business or business
casual clothing is acceptable. The following
types of clothing are not suitable for court proceedings: shorts, tube tops, halter tops, clothing that
contains any obscene, suggestive or inflammatory print or images, and clothes
that are overly dirty or ragged.
Absences/Emergencies: Absences are reviewed on an individual basis; in case of
emergency call 641-754-1603.
Travel, mileage and other expenses: Jurors are reimbursed for travel to and from the courthouse
at a rate approved by the supreme court.
Pursuant to state law, you will be paid $30 a day for each day of jury
service up to seven days; $50 a day for eight or more days of service. You may waive the right to compensation,
which will help reduce the state's cost of operating the court system.
Telephone Fraud Involving Jury Duty: The judicial
system does not contact people telephonically about jury service and ask for
personal information such as your Social Security number, date of birth or
credit card numbers. There have been
reports of individuals contacting citizens in regards to jury duty and
identifying themselves as court employees. These individuals say they are
calling to verify names and Social Security numbers and then ask for credit
card numbers, this could be an attempt to defraud you. The Iowa Courts do not contact people
telephonically and ask for personal information as described above. If you receive such a call do not provide any
personal or confidential information to these individuals, you should contact
your local law enforcement agency or the Clerk of Court in your county.