Iowa Judicial Branch
For the Media
News Releases
Reporter Resources
Expanded News Media Coverage
Directory of Media Coordinators




News Release

December 12, 2013


Contact: Steve Davis, Court Communications Officer, (515)725-8058 or


Iowa Court of Appeals Elects Danilson as Chief Judge


Des Moines, (December 12, 2013)—The Iowa Court of Appeals has elected Judge David Danilson, Boone, as chief judge. Judge Danilson has served on the court of appeals since 2009. He is the eighth chief judge of the court of appeals since the state legislature established the court in 1976. He replaces Chief Judge Larry J. Eisenhauer, recently retired.  


"It is an honor to have been selected to serve Iowans as the Chief Judge of the Iowa Court of Appeals," Chief Judge said. "Our state is well served by a hard-working and dedicated court and staff."


Judge Danilson was born in Perry, Iowa and raised on a farm north of Woodward, Iowa. He earned his bachelor's degree from Iowa State University in 1976. He graduated from Creighton Law School in 1979.


Judge Danilson was in private practice in Boone beginning in 1980 and during that time he served as judicial hospital referee and judicial magistrate. He was appointed to the district associate bench in the Second Judicial District in 1987. Judge Danilson was appointed to the district court bench in 1997 and served two years as the assistant chief district judge of the Second Judicial District.


Judge Danilson is a member of The Iowa State Bar Association and the Iowa Judges Association. Judge Danilson is married and has five children.


The Iowa Court of Appeals is an intermediate appellate court. It reviews appeals from trial court decisions that the supreme court has transferred to the court of appeals. A decision of the Iowa Court of Appeals is final unless reviewed by the Iowa Supreme Court on grant of further review. The majority of appeals filed in Iowa are decided by the court of appeals. Last year, the Iowa Court of Appeals issued 1,071 opinions.


In addition to judicial duties, the Chief Judge of the Iowa Court of Appeals supervises the business of the court, presides when present at a session of the court, and serves on the judicial council. Judge Danilson will also continue to write opinions.


Previous Chief Judges of the Iowa Court of Appeals

1976-1978     Judge Robert Allbee

1978-1994     Judge Leo Oxberger

1994-1996     Judge Allen Donielson

1996               Judge Rosemary Sackett

1997               Judge Albert Habhab

1997-1998     Chief Justice Mark Cady

1999-2012     Judge Rosemary Sackett

2012-2013     Judge Larry J. Eisenhauer



# # #



Iowa Supreme Court

1111 East Court Avenue

Des Moines, IA 50319







Follow us on Twitter - @IowaCourts return to top