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Rule 35.14  Procedure on application for reinstatement.  Any person whose 1 
certificate to practice law in this state was suspended may apply for 2 

reinstatement subject to the following rules: 3 
 35.14(1)  Application. 4 

 a. A proceeding for reinstatement to the practice of law in Iowa must be 5 
commenced by a written application to the supreme court filed with the clerk of 6 
the supreme court not more than 60 days prior to expiration of the suspension 7 

period. 8 
 b. The application shall must state the date of the applicant’s original 9 

admission, the date and duration of suspension, and that the applicant has 10 
complied in all respects with the orders and judgment of the supreme court 11 

relating to the suspension. 12 
 c. The application shallmust be verified by the oath of the applicant as to the 13 
truth of the statements made in the application. 14 

 d. The applicant shall must also submit to the supreme court satisfactory 15 
proof that the applicant, at the time of the application, is of good moral 16 

character and in all respects worthy of the right to practice law. The application 17 
shall must be accompanied by the recommendation of at least three reputable 18 
attorneys currently practicing law in the judicial district in which the applicant 19 

then lives and has lived at least one year prior to filing the application.  If the 20 
applicant does not reside in the district in which the applicant lived at the time 21 

of the suspension, the applicant shall must also file a recommendation from 22 
three reputable attorneys currently practicing law in the district where the 23 
applicant resided at the time of suspension.  The required recommendations 24 

shall may not be from judges or magistrates.  25 
 e. The applicant shall must also submit satisfactory proof that the applicant, 26 

at the time of the application, has filed all reports, paid all fees, and completed 27 
all continuing legal education required by the provisions of chapters 39, 41, 28 
and 42 of the Iowa Court Rules. 29 

 f. The applicant shall must submit satisfactory proof that the Client Security 30 
Trust Fund has been repaid in full, or that the Client Security Commission has 31 

approved a repayment plan, for all client security conduct. 32 
 35.14(2)  Procedure. Upon filing of such application and recommendations 33 
with the clerk of the supreme court, the clerk shall must give written notice 34 

thereof to all of the following: the persons listed below.  Such notice must 35 
contain the date of the suspension, the date of filing the application, and the 36 

date of the hearing set by the supreme court, which will be at least 60 days 37 
after the filing of such application for reinstatement. 38 

a. The attorney general. 39 

b. The county attorney where the applicant resides. 40 
c. The county attorney where the applicant resided at the time of suspension. 41 

d. The chair of the Iowa Board of Law Examiners. 42 
e. The assistant director for attorney discipline of the office of professional 43 

regulation. 44 
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f. Each judge of the district in which the applicant resided at the time of 1 
suspension. 2 

g. The president of a local bar association where the applicant resides. 3 
h. The president of a local bar association where the applicant resided when 4 

the certificate was suspended. 5 
 i. The president of the The Iowa State Bar Association. 6 

 35.14(3) Written statements. Such persons, after receipt of the notice and 7 
before the date fixed for hearing, may submit to the clerk of the supreme court 8 

written statements of fact and comments regarding the current fitness of the 9 
applicant to practice law. Such notice shall contain the date of the suspension, 10 
the date of filing the application, and the date of hearing thereon fixed by the 11 

supreme court, which shall in no case be less than 60 days after the filing of 12 
such application for reinstatement. 13 
 35.14(4)  Notices of witnesses and exhibits. At least 14 days prior to the 14 

scheduled hearing date, the applicant and the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney 15 
Disciplinary Board shall must provide notice to the court and the opposing 16 

party of the names and expected testimony of any witnesses they intend to 17 
produce and shall must file and serve copies of any exhibits they intend to 18 
introduce at the hearing. The opposing party may provide notice of any rebuttal 19 

witnesses or exhibits no later than 7 days prior to the scheduled hearing date. 20 
The court shall may waive these deadlines only upon good cause shown. 21 

 35.14(5)  Hearing. The reinstatement hearing shall will be held at the time 22 
and place designated by the court. The applicant shall bear bears the burden of 23 
demonstrating that the applicant is of good moral character, is fit to practice 24 

law, and has complied in all respects with the terms of the order or judgment of 25 
suspension. The hearing shall will be public unless the court orders otherwise 26 

upon motion of a party. The hearing shall will be informal and the strict rules 27 
of evidence shall will not apply. The court may impose reasonable time limits 28 
on the length of the hearing. 29 

 35.14(6)  Decision. The court shall will render its decision as soon as 30 
practicable after the hearing. The supreme court may require the person to 31 

meet reasonable conditions for reinstatement including, but not limited to, 32 
passing the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination  33 
 35.14(7) Reinstatement after revocation.  In the event the supreme court 34 

revokes the license to practice law of an attorney, the attorney is not eligible to 35 
apply for reinstatement until at least five years after the date of revocation.  For 36 

purposes of this reinstatement rule, “revoked attorney” includes an attorney 37 
whose license to practice law has been revoked or an attorney who has been 38 
disbarred.  Similarly, “revocation” includes “disbarment” and “revoked” 39 

includes “disbarred.” 40 
 35.14(8) Pre-filing requirements.  Prior to filing the application, the attorney 41 

must:  42 
a. File the attorney’s character and fitness application with the National 43 

Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) and pay the NCBE’s application fee; and 44 

b. Pay an administrative fee of $525 to the Iowa Board of Law Examiners. 45 
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 35.14(9) Filing and contents of application. An application for reinstatement 1 
by a revoked attorney must: 2 

a. Be filed with the clerk of the supreme court and be served on the Iowa 3 
Board of Law Examiners. 4 

b. State the date of the applicant’s original admission and the date of 5 
revocation, and recite that the applicant has complied in all respects with the 6 
rule 35.23 and any orders and judgment of the supreme court relating to the 7 

revocation. 8 
c. Include satisfactory proof that the applicant, at the time of the 9 

application, is of good moral character and is in all respects worthy of 10 
readmission to the bar. The applicant must provide a detailed affidavit 11 

describing the applicant’s personal, educational, and work history since the 12 
date of revocation. The application must be accompanied by the 13 
recommendation of at least three attorneys currently practicing law in the 14 

judicial district in which the applicant then lives and has lived at least one year 15 
prior to filing the application. If the applicant does not reside in the district in 16 
which the applicant lived at the time of the revocation, the applicant must also 17 

file a recommendation from three attorneys currently practicing law in the 18 
district where the applicant resided at the time of revocation. The required 19 

recommendations may not be from judges or magistrates. 20 
d.  Include satisfactory proof that the applicant, at the time of the 21 

application, has paid all fees required by the provisions of chapters 39, 41, and 22 

42 of the Iowa Court Rules. 23 
e. Include satisfactory proof that the Client Security Trust Fund has been 24 

repaid in full, or that the Client Security Commission has approved a 25 
repayment plan, for all client security claim payments paid from the Client 26 
Security Trust Fund under rule 39.9 based on the applicant's conduct.   27 

f.  Include satisfactory proof that the applicant, at the time of the application, 28 
has paid all costs assessed against the applicant under rule 35.27. 29 

 35.14(10) Board of law examiners’ report.  After the application for 30 
reinstatement is filed with the clerk of the supreme court, the board will file a 31 

report and recommendation with the supreme court regarding the applicant’s 32 
character and fitness. 33 
 35.14(11) Supreme court actions on application. Upon review of the 34 

application for reinstatement from a revoked attorney, the court may 35 
summarily deny the application, request further information, or set a hearing 36 

date and direct the clerk to give the notice provided under rule 35.14(12).  The 37 
court may appoint a special master or a hearing panel to conduct the hearing.  38 
The hearing date must in no case be less than 60 days after the filing of the 39 

application for reinstatement. Any order denying reinstatement may state 40 
whether the attorney is allowed to file a future application and, if so, the 41 
minimum amount of time before the application can be filed. 42 

 35.14(12) Procedure. Upon direction of the supreme court, the clerk must 43 
give written notice of the revoked attorney’s application for reinstatement to the 44 

persons listed below.  Such notice must contain the date of the revocation, the 45 
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date of filing the application, and the date of the hearing, if any, set by the 1 
court. 2 

 a. The attorney general. 3 
 b. The county attorney in the county where the applicant resides. 4 

 c. The county attorney in the county where the applicant resided at the time 5 
of revocation. 6 

 d. The chair of the Iowa Board of Law Examiners. 7 
 e. The assistant director for attorney discipline of the office of professional 8 

regulation. 9 
 f. Each judge of the district in which the applicant resided at the time of 10 
revocation. 11 

 g. The president of a local bar association where the applicant resides. 12 
 h. The president of a local bar association where the applicant resided at the 13 

time of revocation. 14 
 i. The president of The Iowa State Bar Association. 15 

 35.14(13) Written statements. Such persons, after receipt of the notice and 16 
before the date fixed for hearing, may submit to the clerk of the supreme court 17 
written statements of fact and comments regarding the current fitness of the 18 

applicant to practice law.  19 
 35.14(14) Notices of witnesses and exhibits. At least 14 days prior to the 20 

scheduled hearing date, the applicant and the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney 21 
Disciplinary Board must provide notice to the court, or to the special master or 22 
hearing panel, if applicable, and the opposing party of the names and expected 23 

testimony of any witnesses they intend to produce and file and serve copies of 24 
any exhibits they intend to introduce at the hearing. The parties may provide 25 

notice of any rebuttal witnesses or exhibits no later than 7 days prior to the 26 
scheduled hearing date. The court, or the special master or hearing panel, if 27 
applicable, may waive these deadlines only upon good cause shown. 28 

 35.14(15) Hearing. The reinstatement hearing must be held at the time and 29 
place the court designates. The applicant bears the burden of demonstrating 30 

that the applicant is of good moral character, is fit to practice law, and has 31 
complied in all respects with the terms of the order or judgment of revocation. 32 
The hearing will be public unless the court orders otherwise upon motion of a 33 

party. The hearing will be informal and strict rules of evidence will not apply. 34 
The court may impose reasonable time limits on the length of the hearing, 35 

which must be recorded. 36 
 35.14(16) Decision.  37 

a. The court’s decision will be determined by majority vote of those justices 38 

participating in the proceeding.  Any special master or hearing panel appointed 39 
to conduct a hearing must file a report containing findings of fact with the clerk 40 

within 30 days after the hearing.  The court’s review of the record made before 41 
the special master or hearing panel will be novo.  An attorney’s readmission to 42 
practice in another jurisdiction following revocation in Iowa is not binding on 43 

the decision of the Iowa Supreme Court on any application for reinstatement to 44 
practice in Iowa.  The decision rests in the sole discretion of the supreme court.   45 
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 b. The court at its discretion may place conditions on reinstatement, 1 
including but not limited to passing the Iowa Bar examination.  If the court 2 

does not require the applicant to pass the bar examination, it will impose a 3 
requirement that the applicant must report up to 100 hours of continuing legal 4 

education.  If the applicant refuses or fails to perform any of the conditions, the 5 
court may enter an order summarily denying the application or revoking the 6 
attorney’s license, if admitted, without further hearing.  The applicant must 7 

post a scaled score of at least 80 on the Multistate Professional Responsibility 8 
Exam (MPRE) as a condition of reinstatement.  The MPRE score may be from a 9 

test taken no longer than three years prior to the date of filing of the 10 
application for reinstatement.  An applicant may take the MPRE after the 11 
court’s reinstatement decision, but the attorney will not be reinstated until the 12 

required score is filed. 13 
 35.14(17) Applicability of rules to attorneys permanently enjoined from 14 

practicing law in Iowa.  Rules 35.14(7) through 35.14(16) also apply to 15 
attorneys not licensed in Iowa who have been enjoined by the Iowa Supreme 16 
Court from practicing law in Iowa on a permanent basis.  Such attorneys who 17 

seek to have the injunction lifted must follow the procedures set forth for 18 
revoked attorneys in those rules, and their applications will be processed in the 19 

same manner.  20 
 35.14(7) 35.14(18) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with a 21 
support order. An attorney who fails to comply with a support order may be 22 

denied reinstatement of the attorney’s license to practice law in Iowa.  23 
 a. Procedure. The Child Support Recovery Unit (CSRU) shall must file any 24 

certificate of noncompliance which that involves an attorney with the clerk of 25 
the supreme court. The procedure, including notice to the attorney, shall be is 26 

governed by rule 35.20(1), except that the notice shall must refer to a refusal to 27 
reinstate an attorney’s license to practice law instead of a suspension of the 28 
attorney’s license.  29 

 b. District court hearing. Upon receipt of an attorney’s application for hearing 30 
by the attorney, the clerk of district court shall must schedule a hearing to be 31 

held within 30 days of the date of filing of the application. All matters 32 
pertaining to the hearing shall be are governed by rule 35.20(2).  33 
 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn. If a withdrawal of certificate of 34 

noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall must curtail any proceedings 35 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall must 36 

immediately reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is 37 
otherwise eligible for reinstatement.  38 
 d. Sharing information. Notwithstanding the provisions of any other rule or 39 

statute concerning the confidentiality of records, the clerk of the supreme court 40 
and the director of the office of professional regulation are authorized to share 41 

information with the CSRU for the sole purpose of allowing the CSRU to 42 
identify licensees subject to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 252J or 43 
598.  44 
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 35.14(8) 35.14(19) Denial of reinstatement for default on student loan 1 
obligation. An attorney who defaults on an obligation owed to or collected by 2 

the College Student Aid Commission may be denied reinstatement of the 3 
attorney’s license to practice law in Iowa. 4 

 a. Procedure. The College Student Aid Commission shall may file any 5 
certificate of noncompliance which that involves an attorney with the clerk of 6 

the supreme court. The procedure, including notice to the attorney, shall be is 7 
governed by rule 35.21(1), except that the notice shall must refer to a refusal to 8 
reinstate an attorney’s license to practice law instead of a suspension of the 9 

attorney’s license.  10 
 b. District court hearing. Upon receipt of an attorney’s application for hearing 11 

by the attorney, the clerk of district court shall must schedule a hearing to be 12 
held within 30 days of the date of filing of the application. All matters 13 
pertaining to the hearing shall be are governed by rule 35.21(2).  14 

 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn. If a withdrawal of certificate of 15 
noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall must curtail any proceedings 16 

pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall must 17 
immediately reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is 18 
otherwise eligible for reinstatement.  19 

 35.14(9) 35.14(20) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with an 20 
obligation owed to or collected by the Centralized Collection Unit of the 21 

Department of Revenue. An attorney who defaults on an obligation owed to or 22 
collected by the Centralized Collection Unit of the Department of Revenue 23 
(CCU) may be denied reinstatement of the attorney’s license to practice law in 24 

Iowa.  25 
 a. Procedure. The CCU shall may file any certificate of noncompliance 26 

whichthat involves an attorney with the clerk of the supreme court. The 27 
procedure, including notice to the attorney, shall be is governed by rule 28 

35.22(1), except that the notice shall must refer to a refusal to reinstate an 29 
attorney’s license to practice law instead of a suspension of the attorney’s 30 
license.  31 

 b. District court hearing. Upon receipt of an attorney’s application for hearing 32 
by the attorney, the clerk of the district court shall must schedule a hearing to 33 

be held within 30 days of the date of filing of the application. All matters 34 
pertaining to the hearing shall be are governed by rule 35.22(2).  35 
 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn. If a withdrawal of a certificate of 36 

noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall must curtail any proceedings 37 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall must 38 

immediately reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is 39 
otherwise eligible for reinstatement.  40 


