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 Register, pay $250 pro hac vice fee at OPR site 
 Registration, fee payment good for five years 
 Registrants appear in OPR database, internal and 

external, as “Pro Hac Vice” attorneys 
 Deposit fee in Client Security Trust Fund (CSTF) 
 Require allegation of registration, fee payment in 

applications to appear pro hac vice 
 Clerks confirm registration, fee payment by 

checking public OPR database 
 At expiration of 5 year period, registration 

lapses, attorney reclassified as Expired Pro Hac 
Vice; new registration required for any new filing 

 Pro hac vice attorneys who gain full admission 
still pay initial, regular, special assessments for 
CSTF 



 Online payment – no 
handling of checks by court 
clerks or OPR 

 Fee paid directly to CSTF – 
complies with Iowa Code 
section 602.10137 

 Fee supports CSTF coverage 
of theft by pro hac vice 
attorneys 

 $250 is equal to 5 regular 
annual CSTF assessment 
payments by fully admitted 
attorneys 

 $250 is proportionate to 
cost of processing 10 pro 
hac vice appearances 

 Average pro hac vice fee in 
5 neighboring states is 
$170 per case 

 Clerks need to confirm 
registration by checking 
OPR database 

 Estimate $10,000 - 
$15,000 programming cost, 
recoverable first year 



  31.14(5) Required information for application.  An application filed by the out-of-
state lawyer shall contain all of the following information: 
.  .  . 
  r. A statement that the out-of-state lawyer has registered with the office of 
professional regulation and paid the fee as required by rule 31.14(11). 
  

 
  31.14(11) Periodic fee.  An applicant for admission to appear pro hac vice in any 
Iowa court must first register with the office of professional regulation and pay a fee 
of $250 to the client security trust fund.  The office of professional regulation may 
prescribe an electronic format for the registration and require submission of the 
registration and payment in that form. 
 
  a. Registration and payment of the fee required by this rule qualifies the out-of-
state lawyer to file applications for admission pro hac vice in any Iowa court for a 
period of five years commencing with the date of registration.  Upon expiration of 
the five year period, the out-of-state lawyer becomes ineligible to file an application 
for admission pro hac vice in any Iowa court without first registering and paying 
another fee as required by this rule. 
 
  b. An out-of-state lawyer admitted pro hac vice after registration and payment of 
the fee as required by this rule, who later is fully admitted to the bar of Iowa, must 
pay initial, special, and regular assessments to the client security trust fund as 
required by rule 39.6.  
  

 


