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CHAPTER 7 1 
 2 

RULES OF PROBATE PROCEDURE 3 
 4 
 5 

Rule 7.6 Reports of delinquent inventories or reports. 6 
 7 
.  .  . 8 
 9 
 7.6(4) The Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board, as a 10 
commission of the supreme court pursuant to Iowa Ct. R. 35.2, shall 11 
communicate with each attorney licensed to practice law in Iowa whose name 12 
appears on the list transmitted to the board pursuant to rule 7.6(3). If the 13 
board determines there is reasonable cause to believe an attorney for a 14 
fiduciary has violated Iowa Rule of Professional Conduct 32:1.3 or 32:3.2 for 15 
failure to file a required inventory or report within 60 days after receiving notice 16 
of delinquency, or within an extension of time for a specified period granted by 17 
order, the board shall initiate appropriate disciplinary action. The board 18 
chairperson shall include the number of attorneys investigated and complaints 19 
initiated and processed pursuant to this rule, a synopsis of each such 20 
complaint, and the disposition thereof, in the annual board report to the 21 
supreme court required by Iowa Ct. R. 35.25 35.23. 22 
 23 
.  .  . 24 
 25 
 26 
 27 
 28 
 29 
 30 
 31 
 32 
 33 
 34 
 35 
 36 
 37 
 38 
 39 
 40 
 41 
 42 
 43 
 44 
 45 

 46 
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CHAPTER 31 1 
 2 

ADMISSION TO THE BAR 3 
 4 
 5 

Rule 31.9 Moral character and fitness. 6 
 7 
.  .  . 8 
 9 
 31.9(2) The supreme court may refuse to issue a license to practice law to 10 
an applicant for admission to the bar by examination or on motion who fails to 11 
comply with a support order. 12 
 a. Procedure. The child support recovery unit (the unit) shall file any 13 
certificate of noncompliance which involves an applicant with the clerk of the 14 
supreme court. The procedure, including notice to the applicant, shall be 15 
governed by Iowa Ct. R. 35.20(1) 35.19(1), except that the notice shall refer to a 16 
refusal to issue a license to practice law to the applicant instead of a 17 
suspension of the attorney’s license. 18 
 b. District court hearing. Upon receipt of an application for hearing from the 19 
applicant, the clerk of district court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 20 
30 days of the date of filing of the application. 21 
All matters pertaining to the hearing shall be governed by Iowa Ct. R. 35.20(2) 22 
35.19(2). 23 
 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn. If a withdrawal of certificate of 24 
noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any proceedings 25 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance, or, if necessary, shall 26 
immediately take such steps as are necessary to issue a license to the 27 
applicant if the applicant is otherwise eligible under rules of the supreme court. 28 
 d. Sharing information. Notwithstanding the provisions of any other rule or 29 
statute concerning the confidentiality of records, the clerk of the supreme court 30 
and the director of the office of professional regulation are authorized to share 31 
information with the unit for the sole purpose of allowing the unit to identify 32 
applicants subject to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 252J or 598. 33 
 31.9(3) The Iowa supreme court may refuse to issue a license to practice 34 
law to an applicant for admission to the bar by examination or on motion who 35 
defaults on an obligation owed to or collected by the College Student Aid 36 
Commission. 37 
 a. Procedure. The College Student Aid Commission (the commission) shall 38 
file any certificate of noncompliance which involves an applicant with the clerk 39 
of the supreme court. The procedure, including notice to the applicant, shall be 40 
governed by Iowa Ct. R. 35.21(1) 35.20(1), except that the notice shall refer to a 41 
refusal to issue a license to practice law to the applicant instead of a 42 
suspension of the 43 
attorney’s license. 44 
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 b. District court hearing. Upon receipt of an application for hearing from the 1 
applicant, the clerk of district court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 2 
30 days of the date of filing of the application.  All matters pertaining to the 3 
hearing shall be governed by Iowa Ct. R. 35.21(2) 35.20(2). 4 
 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn. If a withdrawal of certificate of 5 
noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any proceedings 6 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance, or, if necessary, shall 7 
immediately take such steps as are necessary to issue a license to the 8 
applicant if the applicant is otherwise eligible under rules of the court. 9 
 31.9(4) The supreme court may refuse to issue a license to practice law to 10 
an applicant for admission to the bar by examination or on motion who 11 
defaults on an obligation owed to or collected by the centralized collection unit 12 
of the department of revenue (the unit). 13 
 a. Procedure. The unit shall file any certificate of noncompliance which 14 
involves an applicant with the clerk of the supreme court. The procedure, 15 
including notice to the applicant, shall be governed by Iowa Ct. R. 35.22(1) 16 
35.21(1), except that the notice shall refer to a refusal to issue a license to 17 
practice law to the applicant instead of a suspension of the attorney’s license. 18 
 b. District court hearing. Upon receipt of an application for hearing from the 19 
applicant, the clerk of the district court shall schedule a hearing to be held 20 
within 30 days of the date of filing of the application. All matters pertaining to 21 
the hearing shall be governed by Iowa Ct. R. 35.22(2) 35.21(2). 22 
 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn. If a withdrawal of a certificate of 23 
noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any proceedings 24 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance, or, if necessary, shall 25 
immediately take such steps as are necessary to issue a license to the 26 
applicant if the applicant is otherwise eligible under rules of the supreme court. 27 
 d. Sharing information. Notwithstanding the provisions of any other rule or 28 
statute concerning the confidentiality of records, the clerk of the supreme court 29 
and the director of the office of professional regulation are authorized to share 30 
information with the unit for the sole purpose of allowing the unit to identify 31 
applicants subject to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 272D. 32 

 33 
.  .  . 34 
 35 
 36 
 37 
 38 
 39 
 40 
 41 
 42 
 43 
 44 
 45 
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CHAPTER 32 1 
 2 

IOWA RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 3 
 4 

Rule 32:1.3: DILIGENCE 5 
 6 
 A lawyer shall act with reasonable diligence and promptness in 7 
representing a client. 8 
 9 
 Comment 10 
 11 
.  .  . 12 
 13 
 [5] To prevent neglect of client matters in the event of a sole practitioner’s 14 
death or disability, the duty of diligence may require that each sole practitioner 15 
prepare a plan, in conformity with applicable rules, that designates another 16 
competent lawyer to review client files, notify each client of the lawyer’s death 17 
or disability, and determine whether there is a need for immediate protective 18 
action. See Iowa Ct. Rs. 35.17(6) 35.16(6), 35.18 35.17 (where reasonable 19 
necessity exists, the local chief judge shall appoint a lawyer to serve as trustee 20 
to inventory files, sequester client funds, and take any other appropriate action 21 
to protect the interests of the clients and other affected persons of a deceased, 22 
suspended, or disabled lawyer). 23 
 24 
 25 
Rule 32:8.5 DISCIPLINARY AUTHORITY; CHOICE OF LAW 26 
 27 
.  .  . 28 
 29 
 Comment 30 
 31 
 Disciplinary Authority 32 
 33 
 [1] It is longstanding law that the conduct of a lawyer admitted to practice in 34 
Iowa is subject to the disciplinary authority of Iowa. Extension of the 35 
disciplinary authority of Iowa to other lawyers who provide or offer to provide 36 
legal services in Iowa is for the protection of the citizens of Iowa.  Reciprocal 37 
enforcement of a jurisdiction’s disciplinary findings and sanctions will further 38 
advance the purposes of this rule. See Iowa Ct. R. 35.19 35.18. A lawyer who is 39 
subject to Iowa’s disciplinary authority under rule 32:8.5(a) appoints the Clerk 40 
of the Supreme Court of Iowa to receive service of process with respect to Iowa 41 
disciplinary matters. The fact that the lawyer is subject to the disciplinary 42 
authority of Iowa may be a factor in determining whether personal jurisdiction 43 
may be asserted over the lawyer for civil matters. 44 
 45 
.  .  . 46 
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CHAPTER 34 1 
 2 

RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE IOWA SUPREME COURT 3 
ATTORNEY DISCIPLINARY BOARD 4 

 5 

Rule 34.4  Procedure 6 
34.4(1) Upon receiving a complaint, the assistant director for attorney 7 

discipline shall evaluate all information coming to his or her attention from the 8 
complaint or from any other sources alleging lawyer misconduct or incapacity.  9 
The assistant director shall have the authority to decline to open an 10 
investigation of a complaint if the information, if true, would not constitute 11 
misconduct or incapacity, or if the complaint is facially frivolous, stale, lacking 12 
in adequate factual detail, duplicative, outside the board’s jurisdiction, or does 13 
not otherwise reasonably warrant investigation.  The board may adopt policies 14 
to guide the assistant director in the exercise of this authority. 15 

34.4(2) Tthe board shall make a record indicating the date filed, the name 16 
and address of the complainant, the name and address of the respondent 17 
lawyer, and a brief statement of the charges made.  This record ultimately shall 18 
show the final disposition of the matter when it is completed. 19 
  34.4(3) 34.4(2) The board shall keep all files in permanent form and 20 
confidential, unless otherwise provided or directed in writing by the chair of the 21 
board, or the chair’s designee, for disciplinary purposes or by a specific rule of 22 
the supreme court. All such files shall be available for examination and 23 
reproduction, by the designated officer or agent of the Client Security 24 
Commission, pursuant to proceedings under chapter 39 of the Iowa Court 25 
Rules.   26 
  Any such files, except for the work product of staff counsel, investigators, or 27 
administrators of the board, shall be provided to the respondent within a 28 
reasonable time upon the respondent’s request.  For purposes of this rule, 29 
“work product” does not include a written statement signed or otherwise 30 
adopted or approved by the person making it or a contemporaneous and 31 
substantially verbatim transcript or recording of a person’s oral statement. 32 

34.4(4) A complaint declined pursuant to this rule shall not be deemed a 33 
complaint for any purpose.  A complaint declined pursuant to this rule shall 34 
not be docketed under rule 34.4(2), nor shall it be reported or disclosed by the 35 
board or the respondent to any person or authority for any reason. 36 
 37 
Rule 34.5 Board procedure.  Upon receipt of any complaint, the board shall 38 
notify the complainant in writing that the complaint has been received and will 39 
be acted upon or that pursuant to rule 34.4(1) no action will be taken.   40 
 41 
Rule 34.6 Notification of respondent - response. 42 
  34.6(1) The board shall forward to the respondent a copy of the complaint and 43 
copies of chapters 34 and 35 of the Iowa Court Rules.  However, if the 44 
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complaint is declined pursuant to rule 34.4(1), the board shall not notify the 1 
respondent and no response shall be required.  2 
.  .  . 3 

Rule 34.7 Failure to respond—notice—effect. 4 
34.7(1) Failure to respond—separate ethical violation.  If after 20 days no 5 

response has been received, the respondent shall be notified by restricted 6 
certified mail that unless a response is made within 10 days from receipt of 7 
notice, the board may file a complaint with the Grievance Commission of the 8 
Supreme Court of Iowa for failure to respond, and concerning all or any portion 9 
of the matter about which the original complaint was made.  If service cannot 10 
be obtained by restricted certified mail, the board may serve the notice on the 11 
clerk of the supreme court who is appointed to receive service on behalf of 12 
lawyers subject to Iowa’s disciplinary authority.  Iowa R. Prof’l Conduct 32:8.5 13 
cmt. [1].  Service upon the clerk of the supreme court is deemed to be receipt of 14 
the notice by the respondent.   15 

Rule 34.23. Forms. 16 

Rule 34.23 – Form 1.  Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board 17 
Complaint Form 18 

 19 
 20 
 21 
 22 
 23 
 24 
 25 
 26 
 27 
 28 
 29 
 30 
 31 
 32 
 33 
 34 
 35 
 36 
 37 
 38 
 39 
 40 
 41 
 42 
 43 
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THE IOWA SUPREME COURT ATTORNEY DISCIPLINARY BOARD 1 
Complaint Form 2 

(Complete a separate form for each lawyer you are complaining about) 3 
 4 

1.  Your name: ____________________________________________________________ 5 

Street Address: _____________________________________________________________ 6 

City:  ___________________   State: _________  Zip: _______________________________ 7 

Telephone:   Home __________;  Cell ___________;  Business __________________________  8 

  9 
2.  Name of Lawyer you are complaining about:  _____________________________________ 10 

Street Address:  _____________________________________________________________ 11 

City:  ____________ State: ___________ Zip: ___________Telephone: __________________ 12 

 13 
3.  Did you hire the lawyer (yes or no)?  ____  If yes, when was the lawyer hired ?________________ 14 

 If no, what is your connection to the lawyer? _________________________________________ 15 

 16 

4.  If your complaint is about a lawsuit or court case, answer the following: 17 

 a.  Name of court (examples:   Iowa District Court for Polk County;  United States District  Court 18 

for  Northern District of Iowa)___________________________________________________ 19 

 b.  Case title (examples:  Smith vs. Jones;  State vs. Doe) ______ _____________________ 20 

 c.  Case no. __________________________________________________________ 21 

 22 
5.  Type or write neatly on one or more separate sheets of paper a detailed factual statement of what the 23 
lawyer did or did not do that you are complaining about.   Return the sheet(s) with this form.   Write on 24 
only one side of the complaint form and the additional sheets of paper.  Please attach copies of 25 
documents that prove or help to explain your complaint, such as fee agreements, letters, checks, receipts, 26 
itemized billings, and court papers.  Do not send original documents, only copies, as we are not 27 
able to return your documents to you.  28 
 29 
IN FILING THIS COMPLAINT, THE UNDERSIGNED HEREBY WAIVES 30 
CONFIDENTIALITY AND ATTORNEY-CLIENT PRIVILEGE, IF ANY, BETWEEN 31 
COMPLAINANT AND THE ABOVE NAMED ATTORNEY.  THIS WAIVER ALLOWS THE 32 
ATTORNEY TO DISCLOSE YOUR CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION TO THE EXTENT 33 
REASONABLY NECESSARY TO RESPOND TO THE COMPLAINT. 34 
 35 
I certify under penalty of perjury and pursuant to the laws of the State of Iowa that the allegations of this 36 
complaint are true and correct. 37 
 38 
Date ________________________    Signature ____________________________________ 39 
 40 
Send the completed form to: Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board 41 

Judicial Branch Building 42 
1111 East Court Avenue 43 
Des Moines, IA 50319 44 
Telephone:  (515) 725-8017 45 
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THE IOWA SUPREME COURT ATTORNEY DISCIPLINARY BOARD COMPLAINT FORM 1 

 2 
I, __________________________, residing at _______________________________________________ 3 
 (Complainant) 4 
_________________________________, in the City of _________________________________, State 5 
of 6 
___________________, Zip Code _________________, Telephone Number (_____) 7 
___________hereby complain that ____________________________, whose address is ____________ 8 
             (Name of Attorney) 9 
___________________, has violated the rules of ethics and conduct of the legal profession in that: 10 
 11 

(Here explain the basis for the complaint.) 12 
 13 

(Additional pages may be attached if necessary.) 14 
 15 

IN FILING THIS COMPLAINT, THE UNDERSIGNED HEREBY WAIVES 16 
THE ATTORNEY-CLIENT PRIVILEGE BETWEEN COMPLAINANT AND 17 
THE ABOVE-NAMED ATTORNEY. 18 
 19 

  I certify under penalty of perjury and pursuant to the laws of the state of Iowa that 20 
  the preceding is true and correct. 21 
 22 
 Date: ______________________  Signature _______________________________________ 23 
 24 
  This form to be filed with the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary 25 
            Board: 26 
 27 
  Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board 28 
  Judicial Branch Building 29 
  1111 East Court Avenue 30 
  Des Moines, Iowa  50319 31 
  Telephone: (515) 725-8017 32 
 33 

 34 

 35 

 36 

 37 

 38 

 39 

 40 

 41 

 42 
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CHAPTER 35 1 

ATTORNEY DISCIPLINE, DISABILITY, AND REINSTATEMENT 2 

Rule 35.8 Subpoenas.  The commission shall have subpoena power on behalf 3 
of the board and the attorney against whom a complaint has been filed to 4 
compel the appearance of persons or the production of documents during 5 
discovery and the final hearing.  Any attack on the validity of a subpoena shall 6 
be heard or determined by the chair of the commission, or the president or any 7 
member of a division to which a complaint has been referred.  Any resulting 8 
order is not appealable prior to entry of the final ruling, report, or 9 
recommendation of the commission. Disobedience of the commission’s 10 
subpoena shall be punishable as contempt in the district court in and for the 11 
county where the hearing is to be held.  A contempt proceeding will not be a 12 
matter of public record. The clerk of the grievance commission must issue a 13 
subpoena, signed but otherwise in blank, to a party who requests it.  That 14 
party must complete it for service.  An attorney licensed or otherwise 15 
authorized to practice law in Iowa also may issue and sign a subpoena as an 16 
officer of the court. 17 

The clerk of the district court of the county in which any disciplinary hearing is 18 
to be held shall issue subpoenas of all kinds upon request of the grievance 19 
commission, the complainant, or the attorney against whom a complaint has 20 
been filed.  Any member of the grievance commission is hereby empowered to 21 
administer oaths or affirmations to all witnesses and shall cause such 22 
testimony to be officially reported by a court reporter.  The grievance 23 
commission shall report to the supreme court the failure or refusal of any 24 
person to attend or testify in response to any subpoena or any ruling of said 25 
commission.   26 

(new rule) 27 

Rule 35.9 Stipulated Submissions.  The parties may stipulate and agree to 28 
waive formal hearing and submit the complaint to the commission for its 29 
decision on the basis of a written stipulation approved by the parties and filed 30 
with the clerk of the commission.  The commission may consider the complaint 31 
on the basis of the stipulation, or refuse to accept the stipulation and proceed 32 
with a formal hearing, or accept the stipulation but conduct a limited hearing 33 
to elucidate such additional evidence as it may deem necessary to facilitate 34 
informed consideration of the complaint.  A stipulation under this rule must be 35 
submitted not less than 15 days before the date set for hearing.   A stipulation 36 
submitted pursuant to this rule may include a statement regarding the proposed 37 
discipline, including additional or alternative sanctions as provided in rule 35.10.  38 
The commission must consider the statement of proposed discipline, but is not 39 
limited by the statement and may recommend greater or lesser discipline, 40 
including additional or alternative sanctions.  A stipulation submitted pursuant 41 
to this rule must include: 42 
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 35.9(1) a statement of the relevant facts; 1 
 35.9(2) a separate statement of conclusions of law as to the stipulated 2 
violations; 3 
 35.9(3) a separate description of matters in mitigation and aggravating 4 
circumstances; 5 
 35.9(4) a stipulation as to all exhibits; 6 
 35.9(5) a waiver of the formal hearing, the parties’ agreement to submit the 7 
matter on the basis of the stipulation, and agreement to closure of the record 8 
unless the commission directs further proceedings.   9 
 10 

Rule 35.10 35.9 Decision.  At the conclusion of a hearing upon any complaint 11 
against an attorney, the grievance commission may permit a reasonable time 12 
for the parties to file post–hearing briefs and arguments.  The commission shall 13 
dismiss the complaint, issue a private admonition, or recommend to the 14 
supreme court that the attorney be reprimanded or the attorney’s license to 15 
practice law be suspended or revoked.  If the grievance commission 16 
recommends a reprimand or suspension or revocation of the attorney’s license, 17 
it shall file with the supreme court its written findings of fact, conclusions of 18 
law, and recommendations.  As part of its report, the commission may 19 
recommend additional or alternative sanctions such as restitution, costs, 20 
practice limitations, appointment of a trustee or receiver, passage of a bar 21 
examination or the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination, 22 
attendance at continuing legal education courses, or other measures consistent 23 
with the purposes of attorney discipline. 24 

A copy of the commission’s report shall be filed with the Client Security 25 
Commission.  The disposition or report of the grievance commission shall be 26 
made or filed with the supreme court within 30 days of the date set for the 27 
filing of the last responsive brief and argument.  If the commission cannot 28 
reasonably make its determination or file its report within such time limit, the 29 
division president may file a request for an extension of time with the clerk of 30 
the commission prior to the expiration of the applicable 30 day period.  The 31 
clerk shall serve a copy of the request on the chair of the commission and the 32 
parties.  The chair of the commission shall file a written decision on the 33 
extension request with the clerk, who shall serve a copy on all parties.  it shall 34 
report that fact and the reasons therefor to the parties and the clerk of the 35 
supreme court.  If the division fails to file its decision or a request for an 36 
extension of time within 30 days of the date set for the filing of the last 37 
responsive brief and argument, the clerk shall promptly notify the director of 38 
the office of professional regulation of the failure.  Any determination or report 39 
of the commission need only be concurred in by a majority of the 40 
commissioners sitting.  Any commissioner has the right to file with the 41 
supreme court a dissent from the majority determination or report.  Such 42 
matter shall then stand for final disposition in the supreme court.  If the 43 
grievance commission dismisses the complaint or issues a private admonition, 44 
no report shall be made to the supreme court, except as provided in rule 35.25 45 
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35.24; however, the grievance commission shall, within ten days of its 1 
determination, serve a copy of its determination or report on the complainant 2 
and the attorney concerned as provided in chapter 36 of the Iowa Court Rules.  3 
If no appeal is applied for by the complainant within ten days after such 4 
service, the grievance commission’s determination shall be final.  Any report of 5 
reprimand or recommendations for license suspension or revocation shall be a 6 
public document upon its filing with the clerk of the supreme court.   7 
 8 
(old rules 35.10 through 35.15 are renumbered) 9 
 10 
Rule 35.11 35.10 Disposition by the supreme court. 11 

 35.11(1) 35.10(1) Any report filed by the grievance commission with the 12 
supreme court shall be served upon the complainant and the attorney 13 
concerned as provided by chapter 36 of the Iowa Court Rules.  Such report 14 
shall be entitled in the name of the complainant versus the accused attorney as 15 
the respondent.  Within 14 days after a report is filed with the clerk of the 16 
supreme court, the clerk of the grievance commission shall transmit to the 17 
clerk of the supreme court the entire record made before the commission.  If no 18 
appeal is taken or application for permission to appeal is filed within the ten 19 
day period provided in rule 35.12 35.11, the supreme court shall proceed to 20 
review de novo the record made before the commission and determine the 21 
matter without oral argument or further notice to the parties.  Upon such 22 
review de novo the supreme court may impose a lesser or greater sanction than 23 
the discipline recommended by the grievance commission. 24 
 35.11(2) 35.10(2) The supreme court may revoke or suspend the license of 25 
an attorney admitted to practice in Iowa upon any of the following grounds:  26 
conviction of a felony, conviction of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 27 
violation of any provision of the Iowa Rules of Professional Conduct, or any 28 
cause now or hereafter provided by statute or these rules.     29 
 30 
Rule 35.12 35.11 Appeal. 31 
 32 
 35.12(1) 35.11(1) The respondent may appeal from the report or 33 
recommendation filed by the grievance commission pursuant to rule 35.10 34 
35.9 to the supreme court.  The respondent’s notice of appeal must be filed 35 
with the clerk of the grievance commission within ten days after service of the 36 
report or recommendation on the respondent.  The respondent shall serve a 37 
copy of the notice of appeal on the complainant or its counsel pursuant to Iowa 38 
R. App. P. 6.701.  Promptly after filing the notice of appeal with the clerk of the 39 
grievance commission, the respondent shall mail or deliver a copy of the notice 40 
to the clerk of the supreme court. 41 
 35.12(2) 35.11(2) The complainant may apply to the supreme court for 42 
permission to appeal from a determination, ruling, report, or recommendation 43 
of the grievance commission.  The application shall be filed within ten days 44 
after service of the determination, ruling, report, or recommendation on the 45 
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complainant.  The supreme court may grant such appeal in a manner similar 1 
to the granting of interlocutory appeals in civil cases under the Iowa Rules of 2 
Appellate Procedure.  The filing fee and the docket fee shall be waived upon the 3 
complainant’s written request. 4 
 35.12(3) 35.11(3) An appeal of the grievance commission’s dismissal of a 5 
complaint or of the grievance commission’s decision to issue a private 6 
admonition shall remain confidential.  In making such application, and in any 7 
subsequent briefs, the complainant shall refer to the respondent as “Attorney 8 
Doe No. (insert grievance commission number),” instead of using the 9 
respondent’s name.  All references to the respondent during oral arguments 10 
shall be to “Attorney Doe.”  In the event the supreme court reverses or modifies 11 
the report of the grievance commission, such court order of reversal or 12 
modification shall become a public record. 13 
 35.12(4) 35.11(4) After a notice of appeal is filed or permission to appeal is 14 
granted, the appeal shall proceed pursuant to the Iowa Rules of Appellate 15 
Procedure to the full extent those rules are not inconsistent with this rule.  16 
Appellant shall cause the appeal to be docketed within ten days after the filing 17 
of the notice of appeal or the order granting permission to appeal.  The matter 18 
shall be docketed under the title given to the action before the grievance 19 
commission with the appellant identified as such pursuant to Iowa R. App. P. 20 
6.12(1) unless otherwise required by rule 35.12(3) 35.11(3).  The abbreviated 21 
time limits specified in Iowa R. App. P. 6.17 shall apply.  Extensions of time 22 
shall not be granted except upon a verified showing of the most unusual and 23 
compelling circumstances.  Review shall be de novo.  If a respondent’s appeal is 24 
dismissed for lack of prosecution pursuant to Iowa R. App. P. 6.19 or for any 25 
other reason, the supreme court shall proceed to review and decide the matter 26 
pursuant to rule 35.11 35.10 as if no appeal had been taken.     27 
 28 
Rule 35.13 35.12 Suspension. 29 
 30 
 35.13(1) 35.12(1) In the event the supreme court suspends an attorney’s 31 
license to practice law, such suspension shall continue for the minimum time 32 
specified in such order and until the supreme court has approved the 33 
attorney’s written application for reinstatement.  In the order of suspension or 34 
by order at any time before reinstatement, the supreme court may require the 35 
suspended attorney to meet reasonable conditions for reinstatement including, 36 
but not limited to, passing the Multistate Professional Responsibility 37 
Examination. 38 
 35.13(2) 35.12(2) An attorney whose license has been suspended for a 39 
period not exceeding 60 days shall not be required to file an application for 40 
reinstatement, and the court shall order reinstatement of the attorney’s license 41 
on the day after the suspension period has expired, subject to the following 42 
exceptions.  The Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board may file and 43 
serve within the suspension period an objection to the automatic reinstatement 44 
of the attorney.  The filing of an objection shall stay the automatic 45 
reinstatement until ordered otherwise by the court.  If the board files an 46 
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objection, the court shall set the matter for hearing and the clerk shall enter 1 
written notice in conformance with rule 35.14 35.13, except that the court may 2 
waive the requirement of a 60-day waiting period prior to the hearing date.  3 
Automatic reinstatement shall not be ordered until all costs assessed under 4 
rule 35.27 35.26 have been paid. 5 
 35.13(3) 35.12(3) Any attorney suspended shall refrain, during such 6 
suspension, from all facets of the ordinary law practice including, but not 7 
limited to, the examination of abstracts; consummation of real estate 8 
transactions; preparation of legal briefs, deeds, buy and sell agreements, 9 
contracts, wills, and tax returns; and acting as a fiduciary.  Such suspended 10 
attorney may, however, act as a fiduciary for the estate, including a 11 
conservatorship or guardianship, of any person related to the suspended 12 
attorney within the second degree of affinity or consanguinity. 13 
 35.13(4) 35.12(4) Nothing in this rule shall preclude an attorney, law firm, 14 
or professional association from employing a suspended attorney to perform 15 
such services only as may be ethically performed by laypersons employed in 16 
attorneys’ offices, under all of the following conditions: 17 
 a. Notice of employment, together with a full job description, shall be 18 
provided to the board before employment commences. 19 
 b. Informational reports, verified by the employer and employee, shall be 20 
submitted quarterly to the board.  Such reports shall contain a certification 21 
that no aspect of the employee’s work has involved the unauthorized practice of 22 
law. 23 
 c. A suspended attorney shall not have direct or personal association with 24 
any client and shall not disburse or otherwise handle funds or property of a 25 
client.     26 
 27 
Rule 35.14 35.13 Procedure on application for reinstatement.  Any person 28 
whose certificate to practice law in this state was suspended may apply for 29 
reinstatement subject to the following rules: 30 
 31 
 35.14(1) 35.13(1) Application. 32 
 a. A proceeding for reinstatement to the practice of law in Iowa must be 33 
commenced by a written application to the supreme court filed with the clerk of 34 
the supreme court not more than 60 days prior to expiration of the suspension 35 
period. 36 
 b. The application shall state the date of the applicant’s original admission, 37 
the date and duration of suspension, and that the applicant has complied in all 38 
respects with the orders and judgment of the supreme court relating to the 39 
suspension. 40 
 c. The application shall be verified by the oath of the applicant as to the 41 
truth of the statements made in the application. 42 
 d. The applicant shall also submit to the supreme court satisfactory proof 43 
that the applicant, at the time of the application, is of good moral character 44 
and in all respects worthy of the right to practice law.  The application shall be 45 
accompanied by the recommendation of at least three reputable attorneys 46 
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currently practicing law in the judicial district in which the applicant then lives 1 
and has lived at least one year prior to filing the application.  If the applicant 2 
does not reside in the district in which the applicant lived at the time of the 3 
suspension, the applicant shall also file a recommendation from three 4 
reputable attorneys currently practicing law in the district where the applicant 5 
resided at the time of suspension.  The required recommendations shall not be 6 
from judges or magistrates. 7 
 e.  The applicant shall also submit satisfactory proof that the applicant, at 8 
the time of the application, has filed all reports, paid all fees, and completed all 9 
continuing legal education required by the provisions of chapters 39, 41 and 42 10 
of the Iowa Court Rules. 11 
 35.14(2) 35.13(2) Procedure.  Upon filing of such application and 12 
recommendations with the clerk of the supreme court, the clerk shall give 13 
written notice thereof to all of the following: 14 
 a. The attorney general. 15 
 b. The county attorney where the applicant resides. 16 
 c. The county attorney where the applicant resided at the time of 17 
suspension. 18 
 d.  The chair of the Iowa Board of Law Examiners. 19 
 e. The assistant director for attorney discipline of the office of professional 20 
regulation. 21 
 f. Each judge of the district in which the applicant resided at the time of 22 
suspension. 23 
 g. The president of a local bar association where the applicant resides. 24 
 h. The president of a local bar association where the applicant resided when 25 
the certificate was suspended. 26 
 i. The president of the Iowa State Bar Association. 27 
 35.14(3) 35.13(3) Written statements.  Such persons, after receipt of the 28 
notice and before the date fixed for hearing, may submit to the clerk of the 29 
supreme court written statements of fact and comments regarding the current 30 
fitness of the applicant to practice law.  Such notice shall contain the date of 31 
the suspension, the date of filing the application, and the date of hearing 32 
thereon fixed by the supreme court, which shall in no case be less than 60 33 
days after the filing of such application for reinstatement. 34 
 35.14(4) 35.13(4) Notice of witnesses and exhibits.  At least 14 days prior 35 
to the scheduled hearing date, the applicant and the Iowa Supreme Court 36 
Attorney Disciplinary Board shall provide notice to the court and the opposing 37 
party of the names and expected testimony of any witnesses they intend to 38 
produce and shall file and serve copies of any exhibits they intend to introduce 39 
at the hearing.  The opposing party may provide notice of any rebuttal 40 
witnesses or exhibits no later than 7 days prior to the scheduled hearing date.  41 
These deadlines shall be waived by the court only upon good cause shown. 42 
 35.14(5) 35.13(5) Hearing.  The reinstatement hearing shall be held at the 43 
time and place designated by the court.  The applicant shall bear the burden of 44 
demonstrating that the applicant is of good moral character, is fit to practice 45 
law, and has complied in all respects with the terms of the order or judgment of 46 
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suspension.  The hearing shall be public unless the court orders otherwise 1 
upon motion of a party.  The hearing shall be informal and the strict rules of 2 
evidence shall not apply.  The court may impose reasonable time limits on the 3 
length of the hearing. 4 
 35.14(6) 35.13(6) Decision.  The court shall render its decision as soon as 5 
practicable after the hearing.  The supreme court may require the person to 6 
meet reasonable conditions for reinstatement including, but not limited to, 7 
passing the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination. 8 
 35.14(7) 35.13(7) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with a 9 
support order.  An attorney who fails to comply with a support order may be 10 
denied reinstatement of the attorney’s license to practice law in Iowa. 11 
 a.  Procedure.  The child support recovery unit (the unit) shall file any 12 
certificate of noncompliance which involves an attorney with the clerk of the 13 
supreme court.  The procedure, including notice to the attorney, shall be 14 
governed by rule 35.20(1) 35.19(1), except that the notice shall refer to a 15 
refusal to reinstate an attorney’s license to practice law instead of a suspension 16 
of the attorney’s license. 17 
 b. District court hearing.  Upon receipt of an application for hearing by the 18 
attorney, the clerk of district court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 19 
30 days of the date of filing of the application.  All matters pertaining to the 20 
hearing shall be governed by rule 35.20(2) 35.19(2). 21 
 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn.  If a withdrawal of certificate of 22 
noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any proceedings 23 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall immediately 24 
reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is otherwise 25 
eligible for reinstatement. 26 
 d. Sharing information.  Notwithstanding the provisions of any other rule or 27 
statute concerning the confidentiality of records, the clerk of the supreme court 28 
and the director of the office of professional regulation are authorized to share 29 
information with the unit for the sole purpose of allowing the unit to identify 30 
licensees subject to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 252J or 598. 31 
 35.14(8) 35.13(8) Denial of reinstatement for default on student loan 32 
obligation.  An attorney who defaults on an obligation owed to or collected by 33 
the College Student Aid Commission may be denied reinstatement of the 34 
attorney’s license to practice law in Iowa. 35 
 a. Procedure.  The College Student Aid Commission (the commission) shall 36 
file any certificate of noncompliance which involves an attorney with the clerk 37 
of the supreme court.  The procedure, including notice to the attorney, shall be 38 
governed by rule 35.21(1) 35.20(1), except that the notice shall refer to a 39 
refusal to reinstate an attorney’s license to practice law instead of a suspension 40 
of the attorney’s license. 41 
 b. District court hearing.  Upon receipt of an application for hearing by the 42 
attorney, the clerk of district court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 43 
30 days of the date of filing of the application.  All matters pertaining to the 44 
hearing shall be governed by rule 35.21(2) 35.20(2). 45 
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 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn.  If a withdrawal of certificate of 1 
noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any proceedings 2 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall immediately 3 
reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is otherwise 4 
eligible for reinstatement. 5 
 35.14(9) 35.13(9) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with an 6 
obligation owed to or collected by the centralized collection unit of the 7 
department of revenue.  An attorney who defaults on an obligation owed to or 8 
collected by the centralized collection unit of the department of revenue  (the 9 
unit) may be denied reinstatement of the attorney’s license to practice law in 10 
Iowa. 11 
 a. Procedure.  The unit shall file any certificate of noncompliance which 12 
involves an attorney with the clerk of the supreme court.  The procedure, 13 
including notice to the attorney, shall be governed by rule 35.22(1) 35.21(1), 14 
except that the notice shall refer to a refusal to reinstate an attorney’s license 15 
to practice law instead of a suspension of the attorney’s license. 16 
 b. District court hearing.  Upon receipt of an application for hearing by the 17 
attorney, the clerk of the district court shall schedule a hearing to be held 18 
within 30 days of the date of filing of the application.  All matters pertaining to 19 
the hearing shall be governed by rule 35.22(2) 35.21(2). 20 
 c. Noncompliance certificate withdrawn.  If a withdrawal of a certificate of 21 
noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any proceedings 22 
pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall immediately 23 
reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is otherwise 24 
eligible for reinstatement.     25 
 26 
Rule 35.15 35.14 Conviction of a crime. 27 
 28 
 35.15(1) 35.14(1) Upon receipt by the supreme court of satisfactory 29 
evidence that an attorney had pled guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been 30 
convicted of, a crime which would be grounds for license suspension or 31 
revocation, such attorney may be temporarily suspended from the practice of 32 
law by the supreme court regardless of the pendency of an appeal.  Not less 33 
than 20 days prior to the effective date of such suspension, the attorney 34 
concerned shall be notified, in writing directed by restricted certified mail to the 35 
last address as shown by the records accessible to the supreme court, that the 36 
attorney has a right to appear before one or more justices of the supreme court 37 
at a specified time and at a designated place to show cause why such 38 
suspension should not take place.  Any hearing so held shall be informal and 39 
the strict rules of evidence shall not apply.  The decision rendered may simply 40 
state the conclusion and decision of the participating justice or justices and 41 
may be orally delivered to the attorney at the close of the hearing or sent to the 42 
attorney in written form at a later time. 43 
 35.15(2) 35.14(2) Any attorney suspended pursuant to this rule shall 44 
refrain, during such suspension, from all facets of the ordinary law practice 45 
including, but not limited to, the examination of abstracts; consummation of 46 
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real estate transactions; preparation of legal briefs, deeds, buy and sell 1 
agreements, contracts, wills and tax returns; and acting as a fiduciary.  Such 2 
suspended attorney may, however, act as a fiduciary for the estate, including a 3 
conservatorship or guardianship, of any person related to the suspended 4 
attorney within the second degree of affinity or consanguinity. 5 
 35.15(3) 35.14(3) For good cause shown, the supreme court may set aside 6 
an order temporarily suspending an attorney from the practice of law as 7 
provided above upon application by such attorney and a hearing in accordance 8 
with rule 35.14 35.13, but such reinstatement shall neither terminate a 9 
pending disciplinary proceeding nor bar later proceedings against the attorney. 10 
 35.15(4) 35.14(4) An attorney temporarily suspended under the provisions 11 
of this rule shall be promptly reinstated upon the filing of sufficient evidence 12 
disclosing the underlying conviction of a crime has been finally reversed or set 13 
aside, but such reinstatement shall neither terminate a pending disciplinary 14 
proceeding nor bar later proceedings against the attorney. 15 
 35.15(5) 35.14(5) The clerk of any court in this state in which an attorney 16 
has pled guilty or nolo contendere to, or been convicted of, a crime as set forth 17 
above shall, within ten days, transmit a certified record of the proceedings to 18 
the clerk of the supreme court.     19 

Rule 35.16 35.15 Suspension or Disbarment on consent. 20 
 21 
 35.16(1) 35.15(1) An attorney subject to investigation or a pending 22 
proceeding involving allegations of misconduct subject to disciplinary action 23 
may acquiesce to suspension or disbarment, but only by delivering to the 24 
grievance commission an affidavit stating the attorney consents to suspension 25 
of not more than a specific duration or disbarment and indicating the following: 26 
 a. The consent is freely and voluntarily given absent any coercion or duress, 27 
with full recognition of all implications attendant upon such consent. 28 
 b. The attorney is aware of a pending investigation or proceeding involving 29 
allegations that there exist grounds for discipline, the nature of which shall be 30 
specifically set forth. 31 
 c.  The attorney acknowledges the material facts so alleged are true. 32 
 d. In the event proceedings were instituted upon the matters under 33 
investigation, or if existent proceedings were pursued, the attorney could not 34 
successfully defend against same. 35 
 e.  The facts admitted in the affidavit would probably result in the 36 
suspension or revocation of the attorney’s license to practice law. 37 
 f.  Any matters in mitigation or aggravation. 38 
 g. Consent to any alternative or additional sanctions as provided in rule 39 
35.10. 40 
 35.16(2) 35.15(2) The Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board 41 
shall file a response to the affidavit, indicating whether it believes the 42 
misconduct admitted in the affidavit would probably result in suspension or 43 
revocation of the attorney’s license to practice law and citing any legal 44 
authorities supporting its conclusion. 45 
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 35.16(3) 35.15(3) Upon receipt of such affidavit and response, the grievance 1 
commission shall cause the same to be filed with the clerk of the supreme 2 
court.  The supreme court shall enter an order suspending the attorney’s 3 
license to practice for a period no greater than the duration consented to, or 4 
disbarring the attorney on consent, unless it determines the misconduct 5 
admitted in the affidavit is insufficient to support the discipline to which the 6 
attorney has consented. a revocation of the attorney’s license.  The court may 7 
also order any of the alternative or additional sanctions to which the 8 
respondent has consented.  If the court determines the affidavit is insufficient 9 
does not set forth facts that support imposition of the discipline to which the 10 
attorney has consented, it may either enter an order allowing the parties to 11 
supplement the affidavit or an order declining to accept the affidavit.  An order 12 
declining to accept the affidavit shall not bar further disciplinary proceedings 13 
against the attorney, nor shall it preclude the court from imposing any 14 
sanction warranted by the attorney’s conduct upon review of a grievance 15 
commission determination. 16 
 35.16(4) 35.15(4) Any order suspending or disbarring an attorney on 17 
consent shall be a matter of public record.  If an order of suspension or 18 
disbarment is entered, the affidavit and response shall be publicly disclosed.  19 
Otherwise, However, the affidavit and response required above shall not be 20 
publicly disclosed or made available for use in any other proceeding except 21 
upon order of the supreme court.   22 
 23 
(old rules 35.16 through 35.27 are renumbered) 24 
 25 
Rule 35.17 35.16 Disability suspension. 26 

 35.17(1) 35.16(1) In the event an attorney shall at any time in any 27 
jurisdiction be duly adjudicated a mentally incapacitated person, or an 28 
alcoholic, or a drug addict, or shall be committed to an institution or hospital 29 
for treatment thereof, the clerk of any court in Iowa in which any such 30 
adjudication or commitment is entered shall, within ten days, certify same to 31 
the clerk of the supreme court. 32 
 35.17(2) 35.16(2) Upon the filing of any such certificate or a like certificate 33 
from another jurisdiction or upon determination by the supreme court 34 
pursuant to a sworn application on behalf of a local bar association or the Iowa 35 
Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board that an attorney is not discharging 36 
professional responsibilities due to disability, incapacity, abandonment of 37 
practice, or disappearance, the supreme court may enter an order suspending 38 
the attorney’s license to practice law in this state until further order of the 39 
court.  Not less than 20 days prior to the effective date of such suspension, the 40 
attorney or the attorney’s guardian and the director of the institution or 41 
hospital to which the attorney has been committed, if any, shall be notified, in 42 
writing directed by restricted certified mail to the last address as shown by the 43 
records accessible to the supreme court, that the attorney has a right to appear 44 
before one or more justices of the supreme court at a specified time and place 45 
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and show cause why such suspension should not take place.  Upon a showing 1 
of exigent circumstances, emergency or other compelling cause, the supreme 2 
court may reduce or waive the 20-day period and the effective date of action 3 
above referred to.  Any hearing shall be informal and the strict rules of 4 
evidence shall not apply.  The decision rendered may simply state the 5 
conclusion and decision of the participating justice or justices and may be 6 
orally delivered to the attorney at the close of the hearing or sent to the 7 
attorney in written form at a later time.  A copy of such suspension order shall 8 
be given to the suspended attorney, or to the attorney’s guardian and the 9 
director of the institution or hospital to which such suspended attorney has 10 
been committed, if any, by restricted mail or personal service as the supreme 11 
court may direct. 12 
 35.17(3) 35.16(3) Upon the voluntary retirement of an Iowa judicial officer 13 
for disability under Iowa Code section 602.9112 or upon the involuntary 14 
retirement of an Iowa judicial officer for disability under Iowa Code section 15 
602.2106(3)(a), the supreme court may enter an order suspending the retired 16 
judicial officer’s license to practice law in this state in the event the underlying 17 
disability prevents the discharge of professional responsibilities of a lawyer.  18 
The suspension shall be effective until further order of the court.  A copy of 19 
such suspension order shall be given to the suspended attorney, or to the 20 
attorney’s guardian and the director of the institution or hospital to which such 21 
suspended attorney has been committed, if any, by restricted mail or personal 22 
service as the supreme court may direct. 23 
 35.17(4) 35.16(4) Any attorney suspended pursuant to this rule shall 24 
refrain, during such suspension, from all facets of the ordinary law practice 25 
including, but not limited to, the examination of abstracts; consummation of 26 
real estate transactions; preparation of legal briefs, deeds, buy and sell 27 
agreements, contracts, wills and tax returns; and acting as a fiduciary.  Such 28 
suspended attorney may, however, act as a fiduciary for the estate, including a 29 
conservatorship or guardianship, of any person related to the suspended 30 
attorney within the second degree of affinity or consanguinity. 31 
 35.17(5) 35.16(5) No attorney suspended due to disability under this rule 32 
may engage in the practice of law in this state until reinstated by order of the 33 
supreme court. 34 
 35.17(6) 35.16(6) Upon being notified of the suspension of the attorney, the 35 
chief judge in the judicial district in which the attorney practiced shall appoint 36 
a lawyer or lawyers to serve as trustee to inventory the files, sequester client 37 
funds, and take any other appropriate action to protect the interests of the 38 
clients and other affected persons.  Such appointment shall be subject to 39 
confirmation by the supreme court.  The appointed lawyer shall serve as a 40 
special member of the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board and as 41 
a commissioner of the supreme court for the purposes of the appointment.  42 
While acting as a trustee, the trustee shall not serve as a lawyer for the clients 43 
of the disabled lawyer and other affected persons.  Neither shall the trustee 44 
examine any papers or acquire any information concerning real or potential 45 
conflicts with the trustee’s clients.  Should any such information be acquired 46 
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inadvertently, the trustee shall, as to such matters, protect the privacy 1 
interests of the disabled lawyer’s clients by prompt recusal or refusal of 2 
employment.  The trustee may seek reasonable fees and reimbursement of 3 
costs of the trust from the suspended attorney.  If reasonable efforts to collect 4 
such fees and costs are unsuccessful, the trustee may submit a claim for 5 
payment from the Clients’ Security Trust Fund of the Bar of Iowa.  The Client 6 
Security Commission, in the exercise of its sole discretion, shall determine the 7 
merits of the claim and the amount of any payment from the fund.  When the 8 
suspended attorney is reinstated to practice law in this state, or all pending 9 
representation of clients has been completed, or the purposes of the trust have 10 
been accomplished, the trustee may apply to the appointing chief judge for an 11 
order terminating the trust. 12 
 35.17(7) 35.16(7) Any attorney so suspended shall be entitled to apply for 13 
reinstatement to active status once each year or at such shorter intervals as 14 
the supreme court may provide.  An attorney suspended due to disability may 15 
be reinstated by the supreme court upon a showing, by clear and convincing 16 
evidence, that the attorney’s disability has been removed and the attorney is 17 
fully qualified to resume the practice of law.  Upon the attorney’s filing of an 18 
application for reinstatement, the supreme court may take or direct any action 19 
deemed necessary or proper to determine whether such suspended attorney’s 20 
disability has been removed, including an examination of the applicant by such 21 
qualified medical experts as the supreme court shall designate.  In its 22 
discretion the supreme court may direct that the expenses of such an 23 
examination be paid by the attorney. 24 
 35.17(8) 35.16(8) The filing of an application for reinstatement to active 25 
status by an attorney suspended due to disability shall constitute a waiver of 26 
any doctor-patient privilege with regard to any treatment of the attorney during 27 
the period of the disability.  The attorney shall also set forth in the application 28 
for reinstatement the name of every psychiatrist, psychologist, physician and 29 
hospital or any other institution by whom or in which the petitioning attorney 30 
has been examined or treated since the disability suspension and shall also 31 
furnish to the supreme court written consent that any such psychiatrist, 32 
psychologist, physician and hospital or other institution may divulge any 33 
information and records requested by the supreme court or any court-34 
appointed medical experts. 35 
 35.17(9) 35.16(9) Where an attorney has been suspended due to disability 36 
and thereafter the attorney is judicially held to be competent or cured, the 37 
supreme court may dispense with further evidence regarding removal of the 38 
disability and may order reinstatement to active status upon such terms as are 39 
deemed reasonable.     40 
 41 
Rule 35.18 35.17 Death or suspension of practicing attorney.  Upon a sworn 42 
application on behalf of a local bar association or the Iowa Supreme Court 43 
Attorney Disciplinary Board showing that a practicing attorney has died or 44 
been suspended or disbarred from the practice of law and a reasonable 45 
necessity exists, the chief judge in the judicial district in which the attorney 46 
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practiced shall appoint a lawyer or lawyers to serve as trustee to inventory the 1 
files, sequester client funds, and take any other appropriate action to protect 2 
the interests of the clients and other affected persons.  Such appointment shall 3 
be subject to confirmation by the supreme court.  The appointed lawyer shall 4 
serve as a special member of the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary 5 
Board as a commissioner of the supreme court for the purposes of the 6 
appointment.  While acting as a trustee, the trustee shall not serve as a lawyer 7 
for the clients of the disabled lawyer and other affected persons.  Neither shall 8 
the trustee examine any papers or acquire any information concerning real or 9 
potential conflicts with the trustee’s clients.  Should any such information be 10 
acquired inadvertently, the trustee shall, as to such matters, protect the 11 
privacy interests of the disabled lawyer’s clients by prompt recusal or refusal of 12 
employment.  The trustee may seek reasonable fees and reimbursement of 13 
costs of the trust from the deceased attorney’s estate or the attorney whose 14 
license to practice law has been suspended or revoked.  If reasonable efforts to 15 
collect such fees and costs are unsuccessful, the trustee may submit a claim 16 
for payment from the Clients’ Security Trust Fund of the Bar of Iowa.  The 17 
Client Security Commission, in the exercise of its sole discretion, shall 18 
determine the merits of the claim and the amount of any payment from the 19 
fund.  When all pending representation of clients has been completed or the 20 
purposes of the trust have been accomplished, the trustee may apply to the 21 
appointing chief judge for an order terminating the trust.     22 
 23 
Rule 35.19 35.18 Reciprocal discipline. 24 
 25 
 35.19(1) 35.18(1) Any attorney admitted to practice in this state, upon 26 
being subjected to professional disciplinary action in another jurisdiction or in 27 
any federal court, shall promptly advise the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney 28 
Disciplinary Board, in writing, of such action.  Upon being informed that an 29 
attorney admitted to practice in this state has been subjected to discipline in 30 
another jurisdiction or any federal court, the board shall obtain a certified copy 31 
of such disciplinary order and file it in the office of the clerk of the supreme 32 
court. 33 
 35.19(2) 35.18(2) Upon receipt of a certified copy of an order disclosing an 34 
attorney admitted to practice in this state has been disciplined in another 35 
jurisdiction or any federal court, the supreme court shall promptly give notice 36 
thereof by restricted certified mail or personal service directed to such attorney 37 
containing:  a copy of the disciplinary order from the other jurisdiction or 38 
federal court, and an order directing that such disciplined attorney file in the 39 
supreme court, within 30 days after receipt of the notice, any objection that 40 
imposition of identical discipline in this state would be too severe or otherwise 41 
unwarranted, giving specific reasons.  A like notice shall be sent, by ordinary 42 
mail, to the board, which shall have the right to object on the ground that the 43 
imposition of identical discipline in this state would be too lenient or otherwise 44 
unwarranted.  If either party so objects, the matter shall be set for hearing 45 
before three or more justices of the supreme court and the parties notified by 46 
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restricted certified mail at least ten days prior to the date set.  At such hearing 1 
a certified copy of the testimony, transcripts, exhibits, affidavits and other 2 
matters introduced into evidence in such jurisdiction or federal court shall be 3 
admitted into evidence as well as any findings of fact, conclusions of law, 4 
decision and orders.  Any such findings of fact shall be conclusive and not 5 
subject to readjudication.  Thereafter, the supreme court shall enter such 6 
findings, conclusions and orders that it deems appropriate. 7 
 35.19(3) 35.18(3) If neither party objects within 30 days from service of the 8 
notice, the supreme court may impose the identical discipline, unless the court 9 
finds that on the face of the record upon which the discipline is predicated it 10 
clearly appears that any of the following exist: 11 
a.  The disciplinary procedure was so lacking in notice and opportunity to be 12 
heard as to constitute a deprivation of due process. 13 
b.  There was such infirmity of proof establishing misconduct as to give rise to 14 
the clear conviction that the supreme court could not, conscientiously, accept 15 
as final the conclusion on that subject. 16 
c.  The misconduct established warrants substantially different discipline in 17 
this state. 18 
 35.19(4) 35.18(4) If the supreme court determines that any such factors 19 
exist, it may enter an appropriate order.  Rule 35.14 35.13 shall apply to any 20 
subsequent reinstatement or reduction or stay of discipline.     21 
 22 
Rule 35.20 35.19 Suspension of attorney’s license for failure to comply 23 
with a support order.  An attorney who fails to comply with a support order 24 
may be subject to a suspension of the attorney’s license to practice law in Iowa. 25 
 26 
 35.20(1) 35.19(1) Procedure.  The child support recovery unit (the unit) 27 
shall file any certificate of noncompliance with a support order which involves 28 
an attorney with the supreme court by filing the certificate with the office of 29 
professional regulation of the supreme court at 1111 E. Court Ave., Des 30 
Moines, Iowa 50319.  Upon receipt of the certificate of noncompliance, the 31 
director of the office of professional regulation of the supreme court shall issue 32 
a notice to the attorney.  The following rules shall apply and shall be recited in 33 
the notice: 34 
 a.  The attorney’s license to practice law will be suspended unless the 35 
attorney causes the unit to file a withdrawal of certificate of noncompliance 36 
within 30 days of the date of issuance of the notice. 37 
 b.  The attorney may challenge the supreme court’s action under this rule 38 
only by filing an application for hearing with the district court in the county in 39 
which the underlying support order is filed. 40 
 c.  The application for hearing must be filed with the district court clerk 41 
within 30 days of the date of issuance of the notice, and copies of the 42 
application must be provided to the unit and the office of professional 43 
regulation of the supreme court by regular mail. 44 
 d.  The filing of the application shall automatically stay the supreme court’s 45 
action on the certificate of noncompliance. 46 
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 e.  The provisions of this rule shall prevail over those of any other statute or 1 
rule to the extent they may conflict. 2 
 35.20(2) 35.19(2) District court hearing. 3 
 a. Upon receipt of an application for hearing by the attorney, the clerk of the 4 
district court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 30 days of the date of 5 
filing of the application.  The clerk shall mail copies of the order setting hearing 6 
to the obligor, the unit, and the office of professional regulation of the supreme 7 
court. 8 
 b. Prior to the hearing, the district court shall receive a certified copy of the 9 
unit’s written decision and certificate of noncompliance from the unit and a 10 
certified copy of the notice from the office of professional regulation of the 11 
supreme court. 12 
 c. If the attorney fails to appear at the scheduled hearing, the automatic 13 
stay of the supreme court’s action on the certificate of noncompliance shall be 14 
lifted. 15 
 d. The district court’s scope of review shall be limited to determining if there 16 
has been a mistake of fact relating to the attorney’s support delinquency.  The 17 
court shall not consider visitation or custody issues, and shall not modify the 18 
support order. 19 
 e. If the district court concludes the unit erred in issuing the certificate of 20 
noncompliance or in refusing to issue a withdrawal of certificate of 21 
noncompliance, the court shall order the unit to file a withdrawal of certificate 22 
of noncompliance with the office of professional regulation of the supreme 23 
court. 24 
 35.20(3) 35.19(3) Noncompliance certificate withdrawn.  If a withdrawal of 25 
certificate of noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any 26 
proceedings pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall 27 
immediately reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is 28 
otherwise eligible under rules of the court. 29 
 35.20(4) 35.19(4) Sharing information.  Notwithstanding the provisions of 30 
any other rule or statute concerning the confidentiality of records, the director 31 
of the office of professional regulation of the supreme court is authorized to 32 
share information with the unit for the sole purpose of allowing the unit to 33 
identify licensees subject to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 252J or 34 
598.     35 
 36 
Rule 35.21 35.20 Suspension of attorney’s license for failure to comply with 37 
an obligation owed to or collected by the College Student Aid Commission.  An 38 
attorney who defaults on an obligation owed to or collected by the College 39 
Student Aid Commission may be subject to a suspension of the attorney’s 40 
license to practice law in Iowa. 41 
 42 
 35.21(1) 35.20(1) Procedure.  The College Student Aid Commission (the 43 
commission) shall file any certificate of noncompliance which involves an 44 
attorney with the supreme court by filing the certificate with the office of 45 
professional regulation of the supreme court at 1111 E. Court Ave., Des 46 
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Moines, Iowa 50319.  Upon receipt of the certificate of noncompliance, the 1 
director of the office of professional regulation of the supreme court shall issue 2 
a notice to the attorney.  The following rules shall apply and shall be recited in 3 
the notice: 4 
 a. The attorney’s license to practice law will be suspended unless the 5 
attorney causes the commission to file a withdrawal of certificate of 6 
noncompliance within 30 days of the date of issuance of the notice. 7 
 b. The attorney must contact the commission to schedule a conference or to 8 
otherwise obtain a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance. 9 
 c. The attorney may challenge the supreme court’s action under this rule 10 
only by filing an application for hearing with the district court in the attorney’s 11 
county of residence. 12 
 d. The application for hearing must be filed with the district court clerk 13 
within 30 days of the date of issuance of the notice, and copies of the 14 
application must be provided to the commission and the office of professional 15 
regulation of the supreme court by regular mail. 16 
 e. The filing of the application shall automatically stay the supreme court’s 17 
action on the certificate of noncompliance. 18 
 f. The provisions of this rule shall prevail over those of any other statute or 19 
rule to the extent they may conflict. 20 
 35.21(2) 35.20(2) District court hearing. 21 
 a. Upon receipt of an application for hearing by the attorney, the clerk of 22 
district court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 30 days of the date of 23 
filing of the application.  The clerk shall mail copies of the order setting hearing 24 
to the attorney, the commission, and the office of professional regulation of the 25 
supreme court. 26 
 b. Prior to the hearing, the district court shall receive a certified copy of the 27 
commission’s written decision and certificate of noncompliance from the 28 
commission and a certified copy of the notice from the office of professional 29 
regulation of the supreme court. 30 
 c. If the attorney fails to appear at the scheduled hearing, the automatic 31 
stay of the supreme court’s action on the certificate of noncompliance shall be 32 
lifted. 33 
 d. The district court’s scope of review shall be limited to determining if there 34 
has been a mistake of fact relating to the attorney’s delinquency. 35 
 e. If the district court concludes the commission erred in issuing the 36 
certificate of noncompliance or in refusing to issue a withdrawal of the 37 
certificate of noncompliance, the court shall order the commission to file a 38 
withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance with the office of professional 39 
regulation of the supreme court. 40 
 35.21(3) 35.20(3) Noncompliance certificate withdrawn.  If a withdrawal of 41 
certificate of noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any 42 
proceedings pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall 43 
immediately reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is 44 
otherwise eligible under rules of the court.   45 
 46 
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Rule 35.22 35.21 Suspension of attorney’s license for failure to comply 1 
with an obligation owed to or collected by the centralized collection unit 2 
of the department of revenue. 3 
 4 
 35.22(1) 35.21(1) Procedure.  The centralized collection unit of the 5 
department of revenue (the unit) shall file any certificate of noncompliance 6 
which involves an attorney with the supreme court by filing the certificate with 7 
the office of professional regulation of the supreme court at 1111 E. Court Ave., 8 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319.  Upon receipt of the certificate of noncompliance, the 9 
director of the office of professional regulation of the supreme court shall issue 10 
a notice to the attorney.  The following rules shall apply and shall be recited in 11 
the notice: 12 
 a. The attorney’s license to practice law will be suspended unless the 13 
attorney causes the unit to file a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance 14 
within 30 days of the date of issuance of the notice. 15 
 b. The attorney must contact the unit to schedule a conference or to 16 
otherwise obtain a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance. 17 
 c. The attorney may challenge the supreme court’s action under this rule 18 
only by filing an application for hearing with the district court in the county 19 
where the majority of the liability was incurred. 20 
 d. The application for hearing must be filed with the clerk of the district 21 
court within 30 days of the date of issuance of the notice, and copies of the 22 
application must be provided to the unit and the office of professional 23 
regulation of the supreme court by regular mail. 24 
 e. The filing of the application shall automatically stay the supreme court’s 25 
action on the certificate of noncompliance. 26 
 f. The provisions of this rule shall prevail over those of any other statute or 27 
rule to the extent they may conflict. 28 
 35.22(2) 35.21(2) District court hearing. 29 
 a. Upon receipt of an application for hearing by the attorney, the clerk of the 30 
district court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 30 days of the date of 31 
filing of the application.  The clerk shall mail copies of the order setting hearing 32 
to the attorney, the unit, and the office of professional regulation of the 33 
supreme court. 34 
 b.  Prior to the hearing, the district court shall receive a certified copy of the 35 
unit’s written decision and certificate of noncompliance from the unit and a 36 
certified copy of the notice from the office of professional regulation of the 37 
supreme court. 38 
 c.  If the attorney fails to appear at the scheduled hearing, the automatic 39 
stay of the supreme court’s action on the certificate of noncompliance shall be 40 
lifted. 41 
 d.  The district court’s scope of review shall be limited to demonstration of 42 
the amount of the liability owed or the identity of the person. 43 
 e.  If the district court concludes the unit erred in issuing the certificate of 44 
noncompliance or in refusing to issue a withdrawal of the certificate of 45 
noncompliance, the court shall order the unit to file a withdrawal of the 46 
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certificate of noncompliance with the office of professional regulation of the 1 
supreme court. 2 
 35.22(3) 35.21(3) Noncompliance certificate withdrawn.  If a withdrawal of 3 
the certificate of noncompliance is filed, the supreme court shall curtail any 4 
proceedings pursuant to the certificate of noncompliance or, if necessary, shall 5 
immediately reinstate the attorney’s license to practice law if the attorney is 6 
otherwise eligible under rules of the court. 7 
 35.22(4) 35.21(4) Sharing information.  Notwithstanding the provisions of 8 
any other rule or statute concerning the confidentiality of records, the director 9 
of the office of professional regulation of the supreme court is authorized to 10 
share information with the unit for the sole purpose of allowing the unit to 11 
identify licensees subject to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 272D.   12 
 13 
Rule 35.23 35.22 Notification of clients and counsel. 14 
 15 
 35.23(1) 35.22(1) In every case in which a respondent is ordered to be 16 
disbarred or suspended, the respondent shall do all of the following: 17 
 a. Within 15 days notify in writing the respondent’s clients in all pending 18 
matters to seek legal advice elsewhere, calling attention to any urgency in 19 
seeking the substitution of another lawyer. 20 
 b. Within 15 days deliver to all clients being represented in pending matters 21 
any papers or other property to which they are entitled or notify them and any 22 
co-counsel of a suitable time and place where the papers and other property 23 
may be obtained, calling attention to any urgency for obtaining the papers or 24 
other property. 25 
 c. Within 30 days refund any part of any fees paid in advance that have not 26 
been earned. 27 
 d. Within 15 days notify opposing counsel in pending litigation or, in the 28 
absence of such counsel the adverse parties, of the respondent’s disbarment or 29 
suspension and consequent disqualification to act as a lawyer after the 30 
effective date of such discipline or transfer to disability inactive status. 31 
 e. Within 15 days file with the court, agency, or tribunal before which the 32 
litigation is pending a copy of the notice to opposing counsel or adverse parties. 33 
 f. Keep and maintain records of the steps taken to accomplish the foregoing. 34 
 g. Within 30 days file with the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary 35 
Board copies of the notices sent pursuant to the requirements of this rule and 36 
proof of complete performance of the requirements, and this shall be a 37 
condition for application for readmission to practice. 38 
35.23(2) 35.22(2)  The times set forth in 35.23(1)(c) 35.22(1)(c) and 35.23(1)(g) 39 
35.22(1)(g) of this rule shall be reduced to 15 days for respondents who are 40 
exempted from filing an application for reinstatement under rule 35.13 35.12.     41 
 42 
Rule 35.24 35.23 Immunity. 43 
 44 
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 35.24(1) 35.23(1) Complaints submitted to the grievance commission or 1 
the disciplinary board, or testimony with respect thereto, shall be privileged 2 
and no lawsuit predicated thereon may be instituted. 3 
 35.24(2) 35.23(2) Claims against members of the grievance commission, 4 
the disciplinary board, and the director, assistant directors, and the staff of the 5 
office of professional regulation are subject to the Iowa Tort Claims Act set 6 
forth in Iowa Code chapter 669. 7 
 35.24(3) 35.23(3) A true copy of any complaint against a member of the 8 
grievance commission or the disciplinary board involving alleged violations of 9 
an attorney’s oath of office or of the Iowa Rules of Professional Conduct and 10 
laws of the United States or state of Iowa shall be promptly forwarded to the 11 
chief justice of the supreme court.     12 
 13 
Rule 35.25 35.24 Reports.  The chair of the grievance commission and the 14 
chair of the disciplinary board shall, on February 1 of each year, submit to the 15 
supreme court a consolidated report of the number of complaints received and 16 
processed during the prior calendar year, a synopsis of each such complaint, 17 
and the disposition thereof.  The name of the attorney charged and the name of 18 
the complainant shall be omitted, but a synopsis of the charges made and a 19 
report of disposition shall be included.   20 
 21 
Rule 35.26 35.25 Effective dates.  These rules shall have prospective and 22 
retrospective application to all alleged violations, complaints, hearings, and 23 
dispositions thereof on which a hearing has not actually been commenced 24 
before the grievance commission prior to the effective date of these rules.   25 
 26 
Rule 35.27 35.26 Costs. 27 
 28 
 35.27(1) 35.26(1)  In the event that an order of revocation, suspension, or 29 
public reprimand results from formal charges of misconduct, the supreme 30 
court shall assess against the respondent attorney the costs of the proceeding.  31 
For the purposes of this rule, costs shall include those expenses normally 32 
taxed as costs in state civil actions pursuant to the provisions of Iowa Code 33 
chapter 625. 34 
 35.27(2) 35.26(2)  Within 30 days of the filing of the commission report, the 35 
commission shall serve the complainant and the respondent with a bill of costs 36 
and file the bill with the clerk of the supreme court.  An appeal does not 37 
obviate this requirement.  The complainant and the respondent shall have ten 38 
days from the date of service to file written objections with the supreme court 39 
and the clerk of the grievance commission.  Any objections filed shall be 40 
considered by the president of the grievance commission division or the 41 
president’s designee.  The president or the designee shall rule on the objections 42 
within ten days.  The ruling and objections shall be considered by the supreme 43 
court upon disposition of the matter under rule 35.11 35.10 or 35.12 35.11.  44 
Additional costs associated with an appeal shall be taxed by the clerk as in 45 
other civil actions. 46 
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 35.27(3) 35.26(3) In its final decision, the supreme court shall order the 1 
respondent to pay restitution to the complainant for such costs as the supreme 2 
court may approve.  A suspended or disbarred attorney may not file an 3 
application for reinstatement or readmission until the amount of such 4 
restitution for costs assessed under this rule has been fully paid, or waived by 5 
the supreme court.   6 
 7 
Rule 35.28 35.27 Rules.  The grievance commission and the disciplinary 8 
board shall each adopt reasonable rules prescribing the procedure to be 9 
followed in all disciplinary proceedings before each such body, which rules 10 
shall be subject to approval by the supreme court.   11 

 12 
 13 
 14 
 15 
 16 
 17 
 18 
 19 
 20 
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 22 
 23 
 24 
 25 
 26 
 27 
 28 
 29 
 30 
 31 
 32 
 33 
 34 
 35 
 36 
 37 
 38 
 39 
 40 
 41 
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CHAPTER 36 1 
 2 

RULES OF THE GRIEVANCE COMMISSION 3 
 4 

Rule 36.10 Subpoenas — Ooaths.  The chair of the commission, or the 5 
president or any member of a division to which a complaint has been referred, 6 
or any attorney against whom a complaint has been filed, may request the 7 
clerk of the district court of the county in which any disciplinary hearing is 8 
held to issue subpoenas of every kind in all matters pending before the 9 
commission or division thereof, and the clerk shall issue same.  Any member of 10 
the grievance commission is hereby empowered to administer oaths or 11 
affirmations to all witnesses and shall cause such testimony to be officially 12 
reported by a court reporter.  Any member of the grievance commission is 13 
hereby empowered to administer oaths or affirmations to all witnesses and 14 
shall cause such testimony to be officially reported by a court reporter.   15 
 16 
 17 
 18 
 19 
 20 
 21 
 22 
 23 
 24 
 25 
 26 
 27 
 28 
 29 
 30 
 31 
 32 
 33 
 34 
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CHAPTER 39 1 
 2 

CLIENT SECURITY COMMISSION 3 
 4 
 5 

Rule 39.9 Claims 6 

 39.9(1) The commission shall consider for payment all claims resulting from 7 
the dishonest conduct of a member of the bar of this state acting either as an 8 
attorney or fiduciary, provided that all of the following are established: 9 
 a. Said conduct was engaged in while the attorney was a practicing member 10 
of the bar of this state and the claim arises out of the practice of law in this 11 
state.  For purposes of this rule, a practicing member of the bar of this state is: 12 
 (1) a member of the bar of Iowa whose license is active and in good 13 
standing at the time of the dishonest conduct giving rise to the claim, or 14 
 (2) a member of the bar of Iowa whose license has been suspended and 15 
whom the client reasonably believes to be licensed, active, and in good 16 
standing at the time of the dishonest conduct giving rise to the claim.  If the 17 
lawyer has been suspended more than six months prior to the time of the 18 
dishonest conduct giving rise to the claim, it shall be presumed that the client 19 
was unreasonable in believing that the lawyer was licensed, active, and in good 20 
standing at the time of the dishonest conduct. 21 
The commission shall not consider any claim resulting from conduct engaged 22 
in after an attorney’s license to practice in Iowa has been revoked.   23 
 24 
.  .  . 25 

 26 
 27 

Rule 39.15 Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with certain 28 
obligations. 29 
 30 
 39.15(1) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with an obligation owed 31 
to or collected by the centralized collection unit of the department of revenue. The 32 
supreme court may deny a lawyer’s application for reinstatement under rule 33 
39.14 for failure to comply with an obligation owed to or collected by the 34 
centralized collection unit of the department of revenue. The procedure shall be 35 
governed by rule 35.22 35.21. 36 
 39.15(2) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with an obligation owed 37 
to or collected by the College Student Aid Commission. The supreme court may 38 
deny a lawyer’s application for reinstatement under rule 39.14 for failure to 39 
comply with an obligation owed to or collected by the College Student Aid 40 
Commission. The procedure shall be governed by rule 35.21 35.20. 41 
 39.15(3) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with a support order. 42 
The supreme court may deny a lawyer’s application for reinstatement under 43 
rule 39.14 for failure to comply with a support order. The procedure shall be 44 
governed by rule 35.20 35.19. 45 
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CHAPTER 41 1 
 2 

CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION FOR LAWYERS 3 
 4 
 5 

Rule 41.3 Continuing legal education requirement 6 
 7 
.  .  . 8 
 9 
  41.3(2) The 15 hours required by rule 41.3(1) shall include a minimum of 3 2 10 
hours, every two calendar years, devoted exclusively to the area of legal ethics.  11 
Excess hours of education devoted to legal ethics can be carried over for 12 
purposes of the annual 15-hour requirement under rule 41.3(1) but cannot be 13 
carried over beyond the two-year period for special legal ethics requirement 14 
under this rule. 15 
 16 
.  .  . 17 
 18 
 19 
Rule 41.11 Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with certain 20 
obligations. 21 
 41.11(1) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with an obligation owed 22 
to or collected by the centralized collection unit of the department of revenue. The 23 
supreme court may deny a lawyer’s application for reinstatement under rule 24 
41.7 or 41.10 for failure to comply with an obligation owed to or collected by 25 
the centralized collection unit of the department of revenue. The procedure 26 
shall be governed by rule 35.22 35.21. 27 
 41.11(2) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with an obligation owed 28 
to or collected by the College Student Aid Commission. The supreme court may 29 
deny a lawyer’s application for reinstatement under rule 41.7 or 41.10 for 30 
failure to comply with an obligation owed to or collected by the College Student 31 
Aid Commission. The procedure shall be governed by rule 35.21 35.20. 32 
 41.11(3) Denial of reinstatement for failure to comply with a support order. 33 
The supreme court may deny a lawyer’s application for reinstatement under 34 
rule 41.7 or 41.10 for failure to comply with a support order. The procedure 35 
shall be governed by rule 35.20 35.19. 36 
 37 
 38 
 39 
 40 
 41 
 42 
 43 
 44 
 45 
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CHAPTER 42 1 
 2 

REGULATIONS OF THE COMMISSION ON 3 
CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION 4 

 5 
 6 
Rule 42.1 Definitions 7 
 8 
For the purpose of these regulations, the following definitions shall apply: 9 
 10 
.  .  . 11 
 12 
“Legal ethics” shall mean a separate, designated, and dedicated session of 13 
instruction: 14 

• referring to and based on the disciplinary rules or ethical considerations 15 
of the ethics or professional responsibility code for lawyers in the 16 
jurisdiction where the instruction is presented; or 17 

• designed to help attorneys detect, prevent, or respond to substance 18 
abuse or mental illness that impairs professional competence.  The 19 
instruction must focus on issues in the legal profession and in the 20 
practice of law, and not issues of substance abuse or mental health in 21 
general. 22 

 23 

 24 
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CHAPTER 45 1 
 2 

CLIENT TRUST ACCOUNT RULES 3 
 4 
Rule 45.1  Requirement for client trust account 5 
Rule 45.2 Action required upon receiving funds, accounting, and 6 

records 7 
Rule 45.3 Type of accounts and institutions where trust accounts must 8 

be established 9 
Rule 45.4  Pooled interest-bearing trust account 10 
Rule 45.5  Definition of “allowable monthly service charges” 11 
Rule 45.6  Lawyer certification 12 
Rule 45.7  Advance fee and expense payments 13 
Ryle 45.8  General retainer 14 
Rule 45.9  Special retainer 15 
Rule 45.10  Flat fee 16 
 17 
Rule 45.2 Action required upon receiving funds, accounting and records.  18 
 19 
 45.2(1) Authority to endorse or sign client’s name. Upon receipt of funds or 20 
other property in which a client or third person has an interest, a lawyer shall 21 
not endorse or sign the client’s name on any check, draft, security, or evidence 22 
of encumbrance or transfer of ownership of realty or personalty, or any other 23 
document without the client’s prior express authority.  A lawyer signing an 24 
instrument in a representative capacity shall so indicate by initials or 25 
signature. 26 
 45.2(2) Maintaining records, providing Aaccounting, and returning funds or 27 
property. A lawyer shall maintain complete records of all funds, securities, and 28 
other properties of a client coming into the lawyer’s possession and regularly 29 
account to the client for them.  Except as stated in this chapter or otherwise 30 
permitted by law or by agreement with the client, a lawyer shall promptly 31 
deliver to the client or third person any funds or other property that the client 32 
or third person is entitled to receive and shall promptly render a full 33 
accounting regarding such property.  Books and records relating to funds or 34 
property of clients shall be preserved for at least six years after completion of 35 
the employment to which they relate.   36 
 45.2(3) Maintaining records. 37 
 a. A lawyer who practices in this jurisdiction shall maintain current 38 
financial records as provided in these rules and required by Iowa Rule of Prof. 39 
Conduct 32:1.15, and shall retain the following records for a period of six years 40 
after termination of the representation: 41 
  (1) receipt and disbursement journals containing a record of deposits 42 
to and withdrawals from client trust accounts, specifically identifying the date, 43 
source, and description of each item deposited, as well as the date, payee and 44 
purpose of each disbursement; 45 
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  (2) ledger records for all client trust accounts showing, for each separate 1 
trust client or beneficiary, the source of all funds deposited, the names of all 2 
persons for whom the funds are or were held, the amount of such funds, the 3 
descriptions and amounts of charges or withdrawals, and the names of all 4 
persons or entities to whom such funds were disbursed; 5 
  (3) copies of retainer and compensation agreements with clients as 6 
required by Iowa Rule of Prof. Conduct 32:1.5; 7 
  (4) copies of accountings to clients or third persons showing the 8 
disbursement of funds to them or on their behalf; 9 
  (5) copies of bills for legal fees and expenses rendered to clients; 10 
  (6) copies of records showing disbursements on behalf of clients; 11 
  (7) the physical or electronic equivalents of all checkbook registers, bank 12 
statements, records of deposit, pre-numbered canceled checks, and substitute 13 
checks provided by a financial institution; 14 

(8) records of all electronic transfers from client trust accounts, including 15 
the name of the person authorizing transfer, the date of transfer, the name of 16 
the recipient and confirmation from the financial institution of the trust 17 
account number from which money is withdrawn and the date and time the 18 
transfer was completed; 19 
  (9) copies of monthly trial balances and monthly reconciliations of the 20 
client trust accounts maintained by the lawyer, and  21 
  (10) copies of those portions of client files that are reasonably related to 22 
client trust account transactions. 23 
 b. With respect to trust accounts required by Iowa Rule of Prof. Conduct 24 
32:1.15: 25 
  (1) only a lawyer admitted to practice law in this jurisdiction or a person 26 
under the direct supervision of the lawyer shall be an authorized signatory or 27 
authorize transfers from a client trust account; 28 
  (2) receipts shall be deposited intact and records of deposit should be 29 
sufficiently detailed to identify each item; and 30 
  (3) withdrawals shall be made only by check payable to a named payee 31 
and not to cash, or by authorized bank transfer. 32 
 c. Records required by this rule may be maintained by electronic, 33 
photographic, computer or other media provided that they otherwise comply 34 
with these rules and that printed copies can be produced. These records shall 35 
be accessible to the lawyer. 36 
 d. Upon dissolution of a law firm or of any legal professional corporation, 37 
the partners shall make reasonable arrangements for the maintenance of the 38 
records specified in this rule. 39 
 e. Upon the sale of a law practice, the seller shall make appropriate 40 
arrangements for the maintenance of the records specified in this rule. 41 
 42 


