Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Chief Judge Danilson Retirement Ceremony December 14, 2018

November 29, 2018

On Friday, December 14, the Iowa Court of Appeals will hold a special ceremony to mark the retirement of Chief Judge David R. Danilson. This public ceremony will be at 3:30 p.m. in the supreme court courtroom on the fourth floor of the Judicial Branch Building, 1111 E. Court Ave., Des Moines. Overflow seating will be available in the auditorium and elsewhere in the building. Chief Judge Danilson will retire January 4, 2019.
Chief Judge Danilson was born in Perry, Iowa, and raised on a farm north of Woodward. He earned his bachelor's degree from Iowa State University in 1976. He graduated from Creighton University School of Law in 1979. 

Chief Judge Danilson was in private practice in Boone from 1980 to 1987 and during this time served as judicial hospital referee and judicial magistrate. He was appointed to the district associate bench in the Second Judicial District of Iowa in 1987. He was appointed to the district court bench in 1997 and served two years as assistant chief district judge of the second judicial district until his appointment to the court of appeals. He was selected chief judge of the Iowa Court of Appeals in December 2013. He is a member of The Iowa State Bar Association and the Iowa Judges Association. Chief Judge Danilson is married and has five children. 

Media Advisory: The court will allow cameras and audio recording equipment in the courtroom subject to available space. If you wish to be present for the entire ceremony and have camera and recording equipment to install, please arrive twenty minutes in advance of the ceremony. If you wish to record only a portion of the proceedings inside the courtroom, please contact Steve Davis to make arrangements. The media room will also be open for use by the media. 

For More Information:

Contact: Steve Davis, (515) 348-4967 or [email protected]

Iowa Supreme Court
1111 E. Court Avenue
Des Moines, IA  50319

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.