Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Three Nominees Chosen for Iowa Court of Appeals Vacancy

August 5, 2019

Sixteen Iowans applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals that occurred when Judge Gayle Vogel retired on July 1, 2019.

The nominating commission met Monday, August 5, 2019 to interview the applicants for the vacancy. Following the interviews, the commission deliberated and selected a slate of three nominees from the group of applicants and delivered the slate to the Governor. The nominees selected are:

Tim Gartin, Ames

Myron Gookin, Fairfield

Julie Schumacher, Schleswig

The governor has thirty (30) days in which to appoint the new judge.

The 17-member commission is composed of, eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa, and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. The names of the commissioners are on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commissions website.

For More Information:

Contact: Trish Roberts, Chair of the State Judicial Nominating Commission; 712-830-9912; [email protected]

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.