
Small Claims Form 3.8: Original Notice and Petition for Disposition of Abandoned Property 

In the Iowa District Court for ________________ County 

Plaintiff(s) 

________________________________________ 
(Name) 

________________________________________ 
(Address) 

________________________________________ 
(Name) 

________________________________________ 
(Address) 

vs. 
Defendant(s)  

________________________________________ 
(Name) 

________________________________________ 
(Address) 

________________________________________ 
(Name) 

________________________________________ 
(Address) 

 

Original Notice and Petition for 
Disposition of Abandoned Property 

(Iowa Code chapter 555B) 
(Mobile Home and Personal Property in the Vicinity) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If you need assistance to participate in court due to a 
disability, call the disability coordinator (information at 
https://www.iowacourts.gov/for-the-public/ada/).  Persons 
who are hearing or speech impaired may call Relay Iowa TTY 
(1-800-735-2942).  Disability coordinators cannot provide 
legal advice. 

 
To Defendant(s): 

1.  Plaintiff(s) demand(s) a judgment of abandonment for (state the exact nature of abandoned property): 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
because (state basis of demand):  

 

 

 

2.  In support of this demand Plaintiff(s) state(s): 

• Plaintiff(s) has (have) not requested notice by the sheriff as provided for in Iowa Code section 
555B.2;   

• The property is located in the above county; and 

• Regarding liens against the property (check only one of the following): 

  There is no lien against the property other than a tax lien pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 435. 

If this box is checked, the hearing will be set within 14 days of filing the petition. Service 
must be made on the owner of the property at least 10 days before the hearing. 

  There is a lien other than a tax lien pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 435. 

 If this box is checked, the hearing will be set no sooner than 25 days from the filing of 
the petition so as to allow service on the lienholder. Service must be made on the owner 
of the property at least 10 days before the hearing. Service must be made on the 
lienholder no less than 20 days before the hearing. 

3.  Hearing is set for the date, time, and court location listed on the last page of this Original Notice and 
Petition.  The court will electronically record the hearing.  Any party desiring that a certified court reporter 
report the hearing must arrange and pay for the costs of reporting.  Failure to appear at the hearing 
may result in judgment entered against you for statutory damages, interest, and court costs, and 
the property will be disposed of as abandoned property.  

 
 

Continued on next page 



 

/s/  ________________________________  /s/ ________________________________ 
Filing Plaintiff or Attorney     Second Plaintiff, if necessary 

___________________________________  ___________________________________ 
Law firm, or entity for which filing is made, if applicable  Law firm, or entity for which filing is made, if applicable 

___________________________________  ___________________________________ 
Mailing address      Mailing address 

___________________________________  ___________________________________ 
Telephone number      Telephone number 

___________________________________  ___________________________________ 
Email address      Email address 

___________________________________  ___________________________________ 
Additional email address, if applicable    Additional email address, if applicable 
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*Upon electronic filing, a clerk’s signature page will be attached to this document as page 3. 
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