

## OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION OF THE SUPREME COURT OF IOWA

Judicial Branch Building, 1111 East Court Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 50319 Telephone (515) 725-8029 Facsimile (515) 725-8032

Summary of 2017 Divison III Rule Changes that are more than Formatting, Stylistic, or Clarifying in Nature

Charten Description of Change Puls			
Chapter	Description of Change	Rule	
Chapter 31 – Admission to the Bar	Changes in fees—already approved by supreme court order September 14, 2017	Rules 31.2(1), 31.4(1), 31.6, 31.12(2), 31.16(2), and 31.18(2)	
Chapter 34 – Administrative and General Procedures	Increases number of lay persons on Iowa Supreme Court Grievance Commission from 35 to 45	Rule 34.1(1)	
	Provides procedure for selecting a vice chair for Grievance Commission	Rule 34.2	
	Provides procedure for selecting a vice chair for Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board	Rule 34.6(1)	
	Requires fees, penalties or court costs due to the clerk's office to be paid before automatic reinstatement	Rule 34.23(3)(1)( <i>b</i> )	
Chapter 35 – Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board Rules of Procedure	Deleted the requirement for respondents and ADB to file nine copies of petitions for review with the supreme court clerk in light of EDMS	Rule 35.13(4)	
	Deleted two of the restrictions on deferral of proceeding	Rule 35.14(1)	
Chapter 36 – Grievance Commission Rules of Procedure	None		
Chapter 37 –Commission on the Unauthorized Practice of Law	Adds 236A sexual abuse counselors to chapter as they are regulated the same as other victim and domestic violence counselors	Rule 37.4(1)	
Chapter 38 – Rules of Procedure of the Commission on the Unauthorized Practice of Law	None		
Chapter 39 – Client Security Commission	Adds additional late fee of \$250 for June 11  – July 12 <sup>th</sup> period due to increased numbers of attorneys not filing reports after May 11th	Rule 39.8(1)	
	Relocates section from Chapter 40	Rule 39.8(6)	

	Added another "trigger" event to include the receipt of a certificate of noncompliance as a triggering event for audit cost fee shifting if the audit reveals the trust account is not in	Rule 39.10(7)( <i>h</i> )
Chapter 39 – Client Security Commission (cont)	substantial compliance Adds requirement that fees owed to clerk of court (39.17) have to be repaid before reinstatement	Rules 39.14(1) and (2)
	Requires attorneys practicing in Iowa under the multijurisdictional practice rule to also repay any fees owed to clerk of court as part of Client Security filing	Rule 39.16
Chapter 40 – Regulations of the Client Security Commission	Relocated 40.7 to chapter 39 as rule 39.8(6)	Rule 40.7
Chapter 41- Continuing Legal Education for Lawyers	Adds additional late fee of \$250 for June 11  – July 12 <sup>th</sup> period due to increased numbers of attorneys not filing reports after May 11th	Rule 41.4(4)
Chapter 42 – Regulations of the Client Security Commission	Increases the reinstatement fee from \$25 to \$100 in order to make the CLE reinstatement fee and Client Security reinstatement fee the same amount	Rule 42.7(1)( <i>a</i> )
Chapter 43 – Lawyer Trust Account Commission	None	
Chapter 44 – Lawyer Trust Account Commission Grant Criteria and Guidelines	None	
Chapter 45 – Client Trust Account Rules	Adds geographical requirement to location of trust account as per interpretation and practice	Rule 45.1
Chapter 46 – Rules of the Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters	Deletes specific dates for examinations	46.3(2)
-	Requires suspended shorthand reporters seeking reinstatement to comply with same requirements as inactive reporters	46.8(4)
	Requires electronic filing of annual reports (which is current practice) rather than paper filing	46.10(1)
Chapter 47 – Court Interpreter and Translator Rules	None	
Chapter 48 – Code of Professional Conduct for Court Interpreters and Translators	None	
Chapter 49 – Office of Professional Regulation	None	