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CHAPTER 46 
RULES OF THE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

SHORTHAND REPORTERS 
. . . . 

Rule 46.2 Definitions. In this chapter: 
(1)  “Certified shorthand reporter””Certified shorthand reporter” is an individual who has 

demonstrated by examination administered by the board of examiners that such individual has 
achieved proficiency in shorthand equivalent in the discretion of the board to the standard of the 
National Court Reporters Association for the earned designation of Registered Professional 
Reporter, namely, the demonstrated ability to write dictated tests at 180 words per minute 
(question and answer — technical dictation), 200 words per minute (multivoice dictation for 
transcription or readback), and 225 words per minute (question and answer dictation), or such 
equivalents thereof as the board may select, each at 95 percent accuracy or better, and 
demonstrated written knowledge of the reporter’s duties, Iowa legal procedure, and correct 
English usage at 70 percent accuracy or better. Individuals who hold the designation of 
Registered Professional Reporter from the National Court Reporters Association by passing said 
the association’s examination on or after May 1, 1973, and are in good standing with such 
association, may, upon application to the board of examiners, become certified shorthand 
reporters upon successfully passing a written examination concerning a reporter’s duties, Iowa 
legal procedure, and correct English usage at 70 percent accuracy or better. 

(2)  “Shorthand””Shorthand” is a method of writing rapidly with stenographic machine by 
substituting characters, abbreviations, or symbols for letters, words, or phrases. 

(3)  “Shorthand reporting””Shorthand reporting” is the professional skill, whose the practice 
of which by official shorthand reporters and freelance shorthand reporters serves the judicial 
branch of state government in courts of record, references by such courts or the law, depositions 
taken by shorthand reporters, or proceedings of like character, with the end in view of ensuring 
the accuracy and integrity of the record upon which courts rely for evidence, trial, and appellate 
review. 

Rule 46.3 Organization,; meetings, and; information. 
46.3(1) The officers of the board shall beBoard of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters (board) 

are a chairperson, selected by the supreme court of Iowa, and a secretary elected at the 
September meeting, each to serve for a term of one year, or until a successor is elected. Each 
shallmust perform the duties incumbent upon the office. 

46.3(2) The board shallmust hold regular meetings for examination of applicants and the 
transaction of other business at least twice per year.on the second Saturday of March and 
September of each year in Des Moines, Iowa, commencing at 9 a.m., or at such other times or 
places as the board may hereafter designate. Special meetings may be held upon the call of any 
two members of the board. A majority of three or more members of the board shall 
constituteconstitutes a quorum. Business shallmust not be conducted unless a quorum is present. 
All actions of the board shall require a simple majority vote of those present. 
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46.3(3) The board shallmust, at least 60 days prior to the start of each fiscal year, or on a date 
otherwise requested by the supreme court submit to the court for consideration and approval a 
budget, covering the board’s operations for the upcoming fiscal year. Approval of the budget by 
the court shallwill authorize payment as provided in the budget. A separate bank account 
designated as the certified shorthand reporter operating account shallmust be maintained for 
payment of authorized expenditures as provided in the approved budget. Fees or other funds 
received or collected as directed in this chapter or in accordance with an approved interagency 
agreement shallmust be deposited in the certified reporter operating account for payment of the 
board’s authorized expenditures. 

46.3(4) The director of the office of professional regulation shallwill serve as the 
administrator for the board. Information may be obtained from the director at the Office of 
Professional Regulation, Iowa Judicial Branch Building, 1111 East Court Avenue, Des Moines, 
Iowa 50319, by mail or in person during office hours. 
 
Rule 46.4 Applications. Candidates for examination shallmust make written application on the 
form approved by the board and provided by the board’s office. An application must be on file 
with the administrator at the board’s office at least 30 days before the date of the examination, 
unless the board for good cause shown grants an applicant additional time to file or otherwise 
waives the 30-day filing deadline. Good cause for this purpose shallmay include illness, military 
service, unavoidable casualty or misfortune, or other grounds beyond the control of the applicant. 
A new application is required for each examination. An applicant to become a certified 
shorthand reporter shallmust not be examined until said the applicant has satisfied the board that 
the applicant’s educational and special training includes at least one of the following: 

. . . . 

Rule 46.5 Examination. 
46.5(1) Applicants shall beare required to write shorthand from dictation of regular court 

proceedings, or such other matter as may be selected by the board of examiners, for such periods 
as shall be required at varying speeds within the standard. 

. . . . 
46.5(3) Applicants shall beare required to transcribe such part of the dictation as the board of 

examiners may indicate. 
46.5(4) Applicants shall beare required to read aloud such part of the dictated matter as the 

board of examiners may indicate. 
46.5(5) Applicants shall beare required to furnish their own equipment and supplies for taking 

shorthand. Applicants shallmust make their own transcript on a provided computer or typewriter 
unless the applicant is otherwise notified. 

46.5(6) Upon completion of the examination, all shorthand notes, transcripts, and other papers 
used in connection with an examination shallmust be returned to the board. 

46.5(7) Testing rules and guidelines of the National Court Reporters Association and the 
Board of the Academy of Professional Reporters for Registered Professional Reporters shallmust 
be used as a guide to procedure. 
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Rule 46.6 Certification. Each person who has achieved the designation of certified shorthand 
reporter shallwill be issued a certificate by the board of examiners. The certificate may be signed 
by the chairperson and secretary or by all of the board members. 

. . . . 

Rule 46.8 Continuing education requirement. 
46.8(1) Units of continuing education credits as approved by the board of examiners of 

shorthand reporters shallmust be completed by each reporter in active practice in Iowa. Failure to 
comply with the continuing education requirements shallwill be grounds for disciplinary action 
under rule 46.11. In order to comply, a reporter shallmust meet the requirements of rule 
46.8(1)(a) or 46.8(1)(b): 

a. ObtainContinuing education requirements.  
(1)A reporter must obtain at least three continuing education units (CEUs) within a three-year 

period by attending or participating in seminars, workshops, or courses, integrally relating to the 
field of shorthand reporting, and which contribute directly to the professional competency of the 
shorthand reporter. One hour of continuing education credit shall equalequals .1 continuing 
education unitCEU. 

(2) Continuing education activities shallmust be conducted by individuals who have special 
education, training, and experience, and the individuals should be considered experts concerning 
the subject matter of the program. Attendance at any approved national, regional, or state 
seminar will be acceptable. 

(3) Continuing education unitsCEUs earned in any one reporting period may be carried over 
for credit in one or more succeeding reporting periods, constituting the three-year period 
previously provided, but can not be carried over to any successive three-year period. 

(4) Commencing October 1, 2002, theThe annual reporting cycle shallwill run from October 
1 through September 30. Continuing education requirements and the three-year reporting cycle 
for newly certified shorthand reporters will commence October 1 of the year following the year 
of their certification. 

b. Alternative requirements. In lieu of the requirements set forth in rule 46.8(1)(a), the board 
will accept satisfactory evidence of compliance with the current continuing education 
requirements of the National Court Reporters Association for retention on its Registry of 
Professional Reporters. 

46.8(2) The board may, in individual cases involving disability, hardship, or extenuating 
circumstances, grant waivers of the minimum education requirements or extensions of time 
within which to fulfill the same or make the required reports. No waiver or extension of time 
shallwill be granted unless written application is made and signed by the reporter. The board 
may, as a condition of any waiver granted, require the applicant to make up a certain portion or 
all of the minimum educational requirements waived by such methods as may be prescribed by 
the board. 

46.8(3) Reporters who are not actively engaged in practice may obtain from the board a 
certificate of exemption from continuing education requirements. Application for such 
exemption shallmust contain a statement that the applicant will not engage in the practice of 
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shorthand reporting in Iowa without first complying with the regulations governing reinstatement 
after exemption. 

46.8(4) Inactive practitioners who have been granted a certificate of exemption from these 
regulations shallor who have been suspended must, prior to engaging in the practice of shorthand 
reporting in Iowa, satisfy the following requirements for reinstatement: 

a. Submit written application for reinstatement to the board upon forms prescribed by the 
board together with a reinstatement fee of $50, and. 

b. Furnish in the application evidence of one of the following: 
(1) Active shorthand reporting in another state of the United States or the District of 

Columbia and completion of continuing education requirements that are the substantial 
equivalent to the requirements set forth in these rules for court reporters in Iowa as determined 
by the board. 

(2) Completion of continuing education units (CEUs)CEUs sufficient to satisfy education 
requirements for the period of inactivity if seeking reinstatement within three years of being 
granted a certificate of exemption. 

(3) Successful passing of either the state State of Iowa’s certificate examination or the 
National Court Reporters Association’s examination within one year immediately prior to the 
submission of such application for reinstatement. 

Rule 46.9 Approval of activity. A reporter seeking credit for attendance and participation in an 
educational activity other than those sponsored or approved by the National or Iowa Court 
Reporters Associations shallmust submit to the board, within 30 days after completion of such 
activity, a request for credit, including a brief résumé of the activity, its dates, subjects, 
instructors and their qualifications, and the number of credit hours requested therefor. Within 60 
days after receipt of such application, the board shallmust advise the reporter in writing by 
ordinary electronic mail whether the activity is approved and the number of hours are allowed 
therefor. A reporter not complying with the requirements of this rule may be denied credit for 
such activity. 

Rule 46.10 Continuing education reports. 
46.10(1) On or before December 1 of each year, each reporter shallmust file with the board, on 
forms provided by the board, a signed report concerning completion of continuing education for 
the prior reporting period. Said The report, along with the annual renewal fee, shallmust be sent 
to the board’s office, Office of Professional Regulation, Iowa Judicial Branch Building, 1111 
East Court Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 50319. The board may prescribe an electronic report form 
and require submission of the report in that form. submitted and filed electronically using the 
reporter’s account with the office of professional regulation. 

46.10(2) All active reporters who fail to file the annual report on or before December 1 of each 
year shallmust pay a penalty of $100. 

Rule 46.11 Penalty for failure to satisfy continuing education requirements. The board 
may revoke or suspend the license of any reporter who fails to comply with rule 46.10 or who 
files a report showing a failure to complete the required number of education credits;, provided 
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that at least 30 days prior to the suspension or revocation, notice of the delinquency has been 
served upon the reporter in the manner provided for the service of original notices in Iowa R. 
Civ. P.Rule of Civil Procedure 1.305 or has been forwarded to the reporter by restricted 
certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the reporter’s last-known address. The 
reporter shallmust be given the opportunity during the 30 days to file in the board’s office an 
affidavit establishing that the noncompliance was not willful and tender the documents and 
sums and penalties which, if accepted, would cure the delinquency. Alternatively, the reporter 
may file in the board’s office a request, in duplicate, for hearing to show cause why the 
reporter’s certificate should not be suspended or revoked. The board shallmust grant a hearing 
if requested. If the board orders a suspension or revocation it shallmust notify the reporter by 
either of the methods provided above. The suspension or revocation shallmust continue until 
the board has approved the reporter’s written application for reinstatement. 

Rule 46.12 Disciplinary action. The board may, upon its own initiative, or at the request of the 
supreme court of Iowa Supreme Court, or pursuant to complaint by a third party, begin 
disciplinary procedures against any reporter for violations of the board rules or the Code of Iowa 
against any reporter. 

46.12(1) Charges against a reporter brought by a third party must be in writing, signed by the 
complainant, filed with the board, and contain substantiating evidence to support the 
complainant’s allegations. The complaint shallmust include complainant’s address and telephone 
number, be dated, identify the reporter, and give the address and any other information about the 
reporter which that the complainant may have concerning the matter. 

46.12(2) Such complaint, which will be held in confidence as required by law, shallmust be 
reviewed by the board. If the board concurs in the seriousness of the allegations made by the 
complainant, the board shall, in writing,must advise the reporter in writing of the charges 
involved. The reporter shall havehas 30 days from the receipt of the board’s notice to answer the 
charges in writing. The reporter may request a personal appearance before the board. The board 
shallmust then review again the charges made and determine whether the complaint can be 
disposed of informally or if contested case proceedings should be commenced. 

Rule 46.13 Causes for disciplinary action. The board may revoke or suspend a certificate, or 
impose any of the disciplinary sanctions included in this chapter for any of the following 
reasons: 

46.13(1) All grounds listed in Iowa Code section 602.3203. 
46.13(2) Failure to file an annual report showing satisfaction of the current requirement of 

continuing education or submission of a false report of continuing education. 
46.13(3) Conviction of a misdemeanor related to the profession or occupation of the reporter.  
46.13(4) Unless otherwise required by law, a violation of Iowa R. Civ. P.Rule of Civil 

Procedure 1.713(1) or 1.713(2) in any state, federal, administrative, or other proceeding. 
46.13(5) The board’s receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the Child Support 

Recovery Unit, pursuant to the procedures set forth in Iowa Code chapter 252J. 
46.13(6) The board’s receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the Iowa College Student 

Aid Commission, pursuant to the procedures set forth in Iowa Code chapter 261. 



7 
 

46.13(7) The board’s receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the Centralized Central 
Collection Unit of the Iowa Department of Revenue, pursuant to the procedures set forth in Iowa 
Code chapter 272D.  

 
Rule 46.14 Contested case proceedings. 
46.14(1) Contested case proceedings which that involve possible disciplinary sanctions shallmust 
be set for hearing on not less than ten10 days’ notice to all parties. Notice of hearing shallmust 
be in writing and shallmust be served either by personal service or certified mail, return receipt 
requested. 

46.14(2) The notice shallmust include all of the following information: 
a. A statement of the time, place, and nature of the hearing. 
b. A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be held. 
c. A reference to the particular sections of the statutes and rules involved. 
d. A concise statement of the matters asserted, or if the board is unable to state the matters in 

detail at the time the notice is served, the initial notice may be limited to a statement of the issues 
involved. 

. . . . 
46.14(6) After the conclusion of a hearing, the board shallmust take any of the actions set forth 

in rule 46.15. The board’s actions shallmust be set forth in writing, and a copy of the conclusions 
and decisions shallmust be served upon all parties and the supreme court of Iowa Supreme Court. 
The board may permit a reasonable time for the parties to file posthearing briefs and arguments. 
The report of the board shallmust be made within 60 days after the date set for the filing of the 
last responsive brief and argument. If the board cannot reasonably make its determination or file 
its report within such time limit, it shallmust report that fact and the reasons therefor to the 
parties and to the clerk of the supreme court. Any determination or report of the board need only 
be concurred in by a majority of the board members sitting, and any member has the right to file 
a dissent from the majority determination or report. 

46.14(7) Procedures for the handling of all contested case proceedings shallare governed, to 
the extent not specifically set forth in this chapter, be governed by the Iowa Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

. . . .  

Rule 46.16 Military service and veteran reciprocity.  
46.16(1) Definitions. In this rule: 
a. “Military service””Military service” means honorably serving: in federal active duty, state 

active duty, or national guard duty, as defined in Iowa Code section 29A.1; in the military 
services of other states, as provided in 10 U.S.C. section 101(c); or in the organized reserves of 
the United States, as provided in 10 U.S.C. section 10101. 

b. “Military service applicant” “Military service applicant” is an individual requesting credit 
toward certification for military education, training, or service obtained or completed in military 
service. 

c. “Veteran” “Veteran” is an individual who meets the definition of “veteran” in Iowa Code 
section 35.1(2). 
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46.16(2) Military education, training, and service credit. A military service applicant may 
apply for credit for verified military education, training, or service toward any experience or 
educational requirement for certification by submitting a military service application to the board 
office. 

a. The application may be submitted with an application for certification or examination or 
prior to an applicant’s applying for certification or to take an examination. No fee is required for 
submission of an application for military service credit. 

b. The applicant must identify the experience or educational certification requirement to 
which the credit would be applied if granted. Credit may not be applied to an examination 
requirement. 

c. The applicant must provide documents, military transcripts, a certified affidavit, or forms 
that verify completion of the relevant military education, training, or service, which may include, 
when applicable, the applicant’s Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 
214) or Verification of Military Experience and Training (VMET) (DD Form 2586). 

d. Upon receipt of a completed military service application, the board will promptly 
determine whether the verified military education, training, or service satisfies all or any part of 
the identified experience or educational qualifications for certification. 

e. The board will grant the application in whole or in part if the board determines that the 
verified military education, training, or service satisfies all or part of the experience or 
educational qualifications for certification. 

f. The board will inform the military service applicant in writing of the credit, if any, given 
toward an experience or educational qualification for certification, or explain why no credit was 
granted. The applicant may request reconsideration upon submission of additional documentation 
or information. 

g. A military service applicant aggrieved by the board’s decision may request a contested 
case (administrative hearing) and may participate in a contested case by telephone. A request for 
a contested case must be made within 30 days of issuance of the board’s decision. No fees or 
costs may be assessed against the military service applicant in connection with a contested case 
conducted pursuant to this rule 46.16(2). 

h. The board will grant or deny the military service application prior to ruling on the 
application for certification. The applicant is not required to submit any fees in connection with 
the certification application unless the board grants the military service application. If the board 
does not grant the military service application, the applicant may withdraw the certification 
application or request that the application be placed in pending status for up to one year or as 
mutually agreed. Withdrawal of a certification application does not preclude subsequent 
applications supported by additional documentation or information. 

46.16(3) Veteran reciprocity. 
a. A veteran with an unrestricted professional certificate as a shorthand reporter in another 

jurisdiction may apply for certification in Iowa through reciprocity. A veteran must pass any 
examinations required for certification to be eligible for certification through reciprocity and will 
be given credit for examinations previously passed when consistent with board rules on 
examination requirements. A veteran’s fully completed application for certification submitted 
under rule 46.16(3) will be expedited and given priority. 
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b. A veteran’s application for certification must contain all of the information required of all 
applicants for certification who hold unrestricted certificates in other jurisdictions and who are 
applying for certification by reciprocity, including, but not limited to, completion of all required 
forms, payment of applicable fees, disclosure of criminal or disciplinary history, and, if 
applicable, a criminal history background check. The applicant must use the same forms as any 
other applicant for certification by reciprocity and must additionally provide such documentation 
as is reasonably needed to verify the applicant’s status as a veteran under Iowa Code section 
35.1(2). 

c. Upon receipt of a fully completed certification application, the board will promptly 
determine if the professional or occupational licensing requirements of the jurisdiction where the 
veteran is certified are substantially equivalent to the certification requirements in Iowa. The 
board will make this determination based on information the applicant supplies and such 
additional information as the board may acquire from the applicable jurisdiction. The board may 
consider the following factors in determining substantial equivalence: scope of practice, 
education and coursework, degree requirements, postgraduate experience, and examination 
required for certification. 

d. The board will promptly grant a certificate to the veteran if the applicant is certified in the 
same or similar profession in another jurisdiction whose certification requirements are 
substantially equivalent to those required in Iowa and the applicant has passed the written 
examination administered by the board pursuant to rule 46.5(2), unless the applicant is ineligible 
for certification based on other grounds, such as the applicant’s disciplinary or criminal 
background. 

e. If the board determines that the certification requirements in the jurisdiction in which the 
veteran is certified are not substantially equivalent to those required in Iowa, the board will 
promptly inform the veteran of the additional experience, education, or examinations required for 
certification in Iowa. 

f. Unless the applicant is ineligible for certification based on other grounds, such as 
disciplinary or criminal background, the following apply: 

(1) If a veteran has not passed the required examinations for certification, the applicant may 
not be issued a provisional certificate but may request that the certification application be placed 
in pending status for up to one year or as mutually agreed to provide the veteran with the 
opportunity to satisfy the examination requirements. 

(2) If additional experience or education is required for the applicant’s qualifications to be 
considered substantially equivalent, the applicant may request that the board issue a provisional 
certificate for a specified period of time during which the applicant will successfully complete 
the necessary experience or education. The board may issue a provisional certificate for a 
specified period of time upon such conditions as the board deems reasonably necessary to protect 
the health, welfare, or safety of the public, unless the board determines that the deficiency is of a 
character that the public health, welfare, or safety will be adversely affected if a provisional 
certificate is granted. 

(3) If a request for a provisional certificate is denied, the board will issue an order fully 
explaining the decision and inform the applicant of the steps the applicant may take to receive a 
provisional certificate. 
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(4) If a provisional certificate is issued, the application for full certification will be placed in 
pending status until the applicant successfully completes the necessary experience or education 
or the provisional certificate expires, whichever occurs first. The board may extend a provisional 
certificate on a case-by-case basis for good cause. 

f. g. A veteran who is aggrieved by the board’s decision to deny an application for a reciprocal 
certificate or a provisional certificate, or who is aggrieved by the terms under which a 
provisional certificate will be granted, may request a contested case (administrative hearing) and 
may participate in a contested case by telephone. A request for a contested case must be made 
within 30 days of issuance of the board’s decision. No fees or costs will be assessed against the 
veteran in connection with a contested case conducted pursuant to this rule 46.16(3). 

. . . . 

Rule 46.17 Certification by reciprocity. 
. . . . 
46.17(7) The certification requirements of another jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to 

those of Iowa, if in that jurisdiction an individual must demonstrate by examination, 
administered by the licensing authority of the jurisdiction, proficiency in stenographic shorthand 
equivalent to the standard of the National Court Reporters Association for the earned designation 
of Registered Professional Reporter. 


