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Rule 31.16 Registration of house counsel. 1 

. . . . 2 

31.16(2) Procedure for registering. The lawyer must submit to the office of 3 

professional regulation the following: 4 

. . . . 5 

i. An affidavit from the lawyer attesting as follows: 6 

. . . . 7 

(7) The entity lawyer will promptly notify the Client Security Commission of 8 

the termination of the lawyer’s employment. 9 

j. Any other document the supreme court requires to be submitted. 10 

31.16(3) Scope of authority of registered lawyer. 11 

. . . . 12 

c.   A lawyer registered under this rule must: 13 

(1) File an annual statement and pay the annual disciplinary fee as Iowa 14 

Court Rules 39.5 and 39.8 require.  Beginning calendar year 2021, the lawyer 15 

must pay the regular assessment as required by Iowa Court Rule 39.6(2) as well 16 

as any special assessments required by Iowa Court Rule 39.6(4)(a). 17 

. . . . 18 

31.16(6) Reinstatement. A registered lawyer whose registration is terminated 19 

under rule 31.16(5)(a) may be reinstated within 180 days of termination upon 20 

submission to the office of professional regulation all of the following: 21 

a. An application for reinstatement in a form the office of professional 22 

regulation prescribes. 23 

b. A reinstatement fee in the amount of $100. 24 

c.   An affidavitAffidavits from the current employing entity and the 25 

lawyer as prescribed in rule rules 31.16(2)(h) and (i).  26 

c.d. Current versions of the documents and certificates required in rules 27 

31.16(2)(e)–(g). 28 

31.16(7) Reapplication.  Any lawyer seeking to register as house counsel who 29 

has previously been registered under this rule and who has not sought timely 30 

reinstatement under rule 31.16(6) must submit everything contained within 31 

rule 31.16(2) for each subsequent registration. 32 

31.16(7)(8) Sanctions. A lawyer under this rule who fails to register will be: 33 
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a. Subject to professional discipline in this state. 1 

b. Ineligible for admission on motion in this state. 2 

c. Referred by the office of professional regulation to the Iowa Supreme Court 3 

Attorney Disciplinary Board. 4 

d. Referred by the office of professional regulation to the disciplinary 5 

authority of the jurisdictions of licensure, United States or foreign. 6 

31.16(8)(9) Court’s discretion. The supreme court has the discretion to grant 7 

or deny an application or to revoke a registration. The court may procure the 8 

character investigation services of the National Conference of Bar Examiners, at 9 

the lawyer’s expense, in any matter in which substantial questions regarding the 10 

lawyer’s character or fitness to practice law are implicated. The character 11 

investigation services will be procured for all foreign lawyer applicants at the 12 

applicants’ expense. The director of the office of professional regulation must 13 

issue a certificate of registration upon the supreme court’s approval of the 14 

application. 15 

31.16(9)(10) Duration of registration—credit toward admission on motion. 16 

a. Domestic lawyer. A domestic lawyer may practice law in Iowa under this 17 

registration provision for a period of up to five years. If the lawyer intends to 18 

continue practicing law in Iowa, the lawyer must, prior to the expiration of the 19 

five-year period, apply for admission on motion. See Iowa Ct. R. 31.12. The filing 20 

of the application within the five-year period extends the registration period until 21 

the lawyer is admitted or the application is denied.registered under this rule may 22 

remain in house counsel status subject to rule 31.16(5), withdrawal of the 23 

registration, or admission following successful completion of the Iowa bar 24 

examination, by transferred UBE score pursuant to rule 31.4, or without 25 

examination pursuant to rules 31.12 and 31.13.  The period of time the lawyer 26 

practices law in Iowa under the registration provisions of this rule may be used 27 

to satisfy the duration-of-practice requirement under rule 31.12(3)(a). 28 

b. Foreign lawyer. A foreign lawyer registered under this rule is not subject to 29 

the five-year limit on house counsel practice and may remain in that house 30 

counsel status subject to rule 31.16(5), withdrawal of the registration, or 31 

admission following successful completion of the Iowa bar examination. The 32 

foreign lawyer is not eligible for admission on motion based on practice while 33 

registered in Iowa. The foreign lawyer may either remain as house counsel or 34 

may attempt to establish academic equivalency allowing the lawyer to sit for the 35 

Iowa bar examination. A foreign lawyer seeking to take the bar examination 36 

must: 37 

. . . . 38 
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31.16(10)(11) Lawyers registered under prior version of this rule. A lawyer 1 

registered under the prior version of this rule is not required to register again or 2 

pay the registration fee. The adoption of this rule does not affect any existing 3 

five-year period for terminating registration as house counsel and applying for 4 

admission on motion. That date will run from the date of the lawyer’s registration 5 

as house counsel. Any lawyer who is currently registered under a prior version 6 

of this rule is no longer subject to the five-year period for terminating registration 7 

as house counsel.  All other provisions of this rule apply. 8 

31.16(11)(12) Denial of application or suspension of registration for failure to 9 

comply with an obligation owed to or collected by the Central Collection Unit of 10 

the Iowa Department of Revenue.  11 

. . . . 12 

31.16(12)(13) Denial of application or suspension of registration for failure to 13 

comply with an obligation owed to or collected by the Iowa College Student Aid 14 

Commission.  15 

. . . . 16 

31.16(13)(14) Denial of application or suspension of registration for failure to 17 

comply with a support order. The supreme court may deny a lawyer’s application 18 

for registration or suspend a lawyer’s registration under this rule for failure to 19 

comply with a support order. Rule 31.9(5) governs this procedure. 20 

 21 


