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Rule 31.16 Registration of house counsel.

31.16(2) Procedure for registering. The lawyer must submit to the office of
professional regulation the following:

.. An affidavit from the lawyer attesting as follows:

(7) The entity-lawyer will promptly notify the Client Security Commission of
the termination of the lawyer’s employment.

J- Any other document the supreme court requires to be submitted.
31.16(3) Scope of authority of registered lawyer.
c. A lawyer registered under this rule must:

(1) File an annual statement and pay the annual disciplinary fee as Iowa
Court Rules 39.5 and 39.8 require. Beginning calendar year 2021, the lawyer
must pay the regular assessment as required by Iowa Court Rule 39.6(2) as well
as any special assessments required by Iowa Court Rule 39.6(4)(q).

31.16(6) Reinstatement. A registered lawyer whose registration is terminated
under rule 31.16(5)(a) may be reinstated within 180 days of termination upon
submission to the office of professional regulation all of the following:

a. An application for reinstatement in a form the office of professional
regulation prescribes.

b. A reinstatement fee in the amount of $100.

c. An-affidavitAffidavits from the current employing entity and the

lawyer as prescribed in #wle-rules 31.16(2)(h) and (3.

e-d. Current versions of the documents and certificates required in rules
31.16(12)(e)—(q).

31.16(7) Reapplication. Any lawyer seeking to register as house counsel who
has previously been registered under this rule and who has not sought timely
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reinstatement under rule 31.16(6) must submit everything contained within
rule 31.16(2) for each subsequent registration. :

31.16{#A{8) Sanctions. A lawyer under this rule who fails to register will be:
a. Subject to professional discipline in this state.
b. Ineligible for admission on motion in this state.

c. Referred by the office of professional regulation to the lowa Supreme Court
Attorney Disciplinary Board.

d. Referred by the office of professional regulation to the disciplinary
authority of the jurisdictions of licensure, United States or foreign.

31.16{8}(9) Court’s discretion. The supreme court has the discretion to grant
or deny an application or to revoke a registration. The court may procure the
character investigation services of the National Conference of Bar Examiners, at
the lawyer’s expense, in any matter in which substantial questions regarding the
lawyer’s character or fitness to practice law are implicated. The character
investigation services will be procured for all foreign lawyer applicants at the
applicants’ expense. The director-ef-the-office of professional regulation must
issue a certificate of registration upon the supreme court’s approval of the
application.

31.16{9}(10) Duration of registration—credit toward admission on motion.

a. Domestlc lawyer A domestlc lawyer m@#p%ae&e%l&m%—}ewa—aaéee—éh}s

e 0] ‘ denied-registered under this rule may
remain in house counsel status subject to rule 31.16(5), withdrawal of the

registration, or admission following successful completion of the Iowa bar
examination, by transferred UBE score pursuant to rule 31.4, or without
examination pursuant to rules 31.12 and 31.13. The period of time the lawyer
practices law in Iowa under the registration provisions of this rule may be used
to satisfy the duration-of-practice requirement under rule 31.12(3)(q).

b. Foreign lawyer A foreign Iawyer registered under this rule %ﬁ@%&%}%@i—%@

counsel Status subJect to rule 31.16(5), w1thdrawa1 of the reglstratlon, or
admission following successful completion of the Iowa bar examination. The
foreign lawyer is not eligible for admission on motion based on practice while
registered in Iowa. The foreign lawyer may either remain as house counsel or
may attempt to establish academic equivalency allowing the lawyer to sit for the
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Iowa bar examination. A foreign lawyer seeking to take the bar examination
must:

31.16¢10}{11) Lawyers registered under prior version of this rule. A lawyer
registered under the prior version of this rule is not required to register again or

pay the reglstratlon fee. ih%aéepﬁe%kef-thfs—ﬂﬂe-éees—ﬂe{—aﬁeet—any-eﬂsmg

as—he&%e——eeaase—L—Any lawyer who is currently registered under a pr1or version
of this rule is no longer subject to the five-year period for terminating registration
as house counsel. All other provisions of this rule apply.

31.16{31}(12) Denial of application or suspension of registration for failure to
comply with an obligation owed to or collected by the Central Collection Unit of
the Iowa Department of Revenue.

31.16{22}(13) Denial of application or suspension of registration for failure to
comply with an obligation owed to or collected by the lIowa College Student Aid
Commission.

31.16{13}{14) Denial of application or suspension of registration for failure to
comply with a support order.
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