FILED APR 28 2021

In the Iowa Supreme Court

In the Matter of Lessons Learned From the Judicial Branch Response To COVID-19 CLERK SUPREME COURT
April 28, 2021

Beginning in early March 2020, the judicial branch was preparing to minimize the impact of COVID-19 on the services it provides to Iowans. In the span of just a few weeks, the planning effort transitioned into the need for immediate actions.

As the pandemic worsened and more information about the virus became available, the Iowa Supreme Court issued orders to protect the public and court employees while keeping the courts as open and operational as possible. Between March 12 and November 24, nearly thirty supervisory orders were issued.

As the judicial branch begins to plan for a post COVID-19 world, it seeks to review the formal orders and informal policies or practices adopted by the branch in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The supreme court establishes the Lessons Learned Task Force to make recommendations to the supreme court on rules, polices or practices that should be retained, modified or stopped. The recommendations shall be submitted to the supreme court by June 4, 2021. The following individuals are appointed to the Task Force:

Honorable Susan Christensen, Chief Justice, Iowa Supreme Court, Harlan, chair

Honorable Kellyann Lekar, Chief Judge, First Judicial District, Waterloo

Honorable David Porter, District Judge, Des Moines

Honorable Russell Keast, District Associate Judge, Cedar Rapids

Steve Bradford, corporate counsel, Muscatine

Carrington Buze, Children's Justice, Des Moines

Guy Cook, private practice attorney, Des Moines

Diane Crookham-Johnson, Magistrate, Oskaloosa

Connie Diekema, private practice attorney, Des Moines

Kathy Gaylord, District Court Administrator, Davenport

John Goerdt, Interim State Court Administrator, Des Moines

Katie Graham, private practice attorney, Des Moines

Donna Humpal, Clerk of the Appellate Court, Des Moines

Laura Kyndesen, Clerk of Court for Pottawatamie County, Council Bluffs

Tom Kunstle, Sioux County Attorney, Orange City

Amy Lampman, court reporter, Nevada

Jerry Schnurr, private practice attorney, Fort Dodge

Brooke Timmer, private practice attorney, Des Moines

Stacey Warren, private practice attorney, Des Moines

Jeff Wright, State Public Defender, Des Moines

Task Force members may be reimbursed for necessary and reasonable travel expenses according to Iowa Court Rules 22.16 through 22.20.

Dated this 28th day of April, 2021.

THE SUPREME COURT OF IOWA

Bv

Susan Larson Christensen, Chief Justice

Copies to:

Iowa Supreme Court

Iowa Court of Appeals

Chief Judges

Senior Judges

District Court Judges

District Associate Judges

Magistrates

State Court Administrator

District Court Administrators

Supreme Court Clerk

District Court Clerks

Chief Juvenile Court Officers

The Iowa State Bar Association

Polk County Bar Association

The Iowa State Association of Counties

The Iowa State Sheriffs' and Deputies' Association

Iowa Attorney General

Iowa State Public Defender

Iowa League of Cities

Iowa State Police Association

Iowa Peace Officers Association

Iowa Department of Public Safety

Iowa Association for Justice

Iowa Defense Counsel Association

Iowa Academy of Trial Layers

Iowa Court Reporters Association

Iowa Clerks Association

Association of Corporate Counsel-Iowa Chapter

Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys

Thomson Reuters (Westlaw)

Mead Data Central, Inc. (Lexis)

Legislative Services Agency

Task Force members