Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Calhoun County Courthouse

Calhoun County was formed in 1855, but it took until 1856 for Lake City to be selected as the county seat. A $1,100 building was constructed to serve as the first courthouse in 1856.

In 1877 the county seat moved to Rockwell City and a new courthouse was built for just over $2,000. This second courthouse was short lived as a fire destroyed it in 1884. Until a new one was built, a hotel and a building in town were rented for $1 a day to serve as the temporary courthouse.

A third courthouse was built on a new location in 1886, but was too small for the county. The fourth courthouse was completed in 1914 for a cost of $116,200 and the former courthouse was sold to a Catholic Church. This fourth courthouse serves Calhoun County today. The outside walls are limestone and the building has a red roof made of clay tiles. The architectural style of this three story building is Neo-Classical Revival.

© 2022 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.