Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Edward A. Sager (1937-1942)

Chief Justice

Edward A. Sager

Served on the Iowa Supreme Court from January 1, 1937, until December 31, 1942. For one term of six months he was Chief Justice.

Born in Bremer County, Iowa, October 17, 1872. He was graduated from the Law Department of the University of Iowa in 1894. After his admission to the bar he began the practice of law at Waverly where he continued to reside during his entire career. He accepted no public office until elected to the Supreme Bench in 1936.

Justice Sager died at Waverly February 7, 1943.

© 2022 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.