Although there are few records of Taylor County business from 1854 to 1866, there is evidence that plans for a courthouse were begun in 1863. When completed, this courthouse was made of stone and sat on the south side of the square. As the county's needs expanded, additional office space was rented in town.
The cornerstone for a new courthouse was laid in June of 1892. The three-story castle was completed in the spring of 1893 at a cost of $38,810. It is made of pressed brick and Bedford limestone and has a large dome with an illuminated clock. Unique characteristics of the interior include the fireplaces that are featured in most of the rooms and an elegant spiral staircase. The Romanesque style structure serves the county today.
The contractor lost money on the project, so the county gave him an additional $1,000 and a gold watch to thank him for remaining faithful to the original contract price.