Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

What are the penalties for not paying my court debt?

The legislature has prescribed statutory penalties to encourage you to pay court debt within 30 days after the date assessed.

If your court debt becomes delinquent, you will be unable to renew your motor vehicle registration or driver's license.

For any traffic or traffic related offense, if you have not paid the court debt 30 days after it was assessed by a court order, your driver's license will be suspended by the Department of Transportation. Your driver's license or motor vehicle registration may be suspended until you enter into a payment plan.

Other actions could include withholding your state tax refund being withheld or recovering your lottery winnings.

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.