Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Court of Appeals

Iowa Judicial Branch Building
1111 East Court Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 348-4700 (Clerk of Court)

Iowa Court of Appeals in court of appeals courtroom

The Iowa Court of Appeals is an intermediate appellate court. It reviews appeals from trial court decisions that have been transferred to the court of appeals by the supreme court. A decision of the Iowa Court of Appeals is final unless reviewed by the Iowa Supreme Court on grant of further review. Some opinions of the Iowa Court of Appeals are published and become precedent for subsequent cases. The majority of appeals filed in Iowa are decided by the Court of Appeals.

As an appellate court, the Iowa Court of Appeals does not preside over trials. The court of appeals proceedings do not involve witnesses, juries, new evidence, or court reporters. Instead, the court reviews the written record of the trial court to determine whether any significant legal errors occurred.   

© 2023 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.