Clerk of Court
417 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
Pay Fines Online
Access our convenient, online payment service that enables the payment of fines, surcharges and fees electronically, 24/7, with a major credit card.
District Court Administrator
Juvenile Court Office
855 S. Dubuque Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
319-356-6060 Ext. 3051, Johnson.County.Clerk@iowacourts.gov
The national eJuror Program gives potential jurors the flexibility of responding online to their jury qualification questionnaire. Jurors choosing to complete these forms electronically don’t have to mail them. Through the eJuror Program, potential jurors may:
- update personal information,
- check when they need to report for jury service,
- submit a request for an excuse or deferral, and
- select an alternate time to serve.
Please keep the top portion of your jury summons. Additional reporting information is located on the back of your summons. Please follow these instructions or any other enclosed instructions which may require you to call in prior to your service date or give a time and date which you are to appear. You will be required to bring the top portion with you when you report for jury duty.
What to Wear to Court
Please report for jury service wearing respectable clothes. As a general rule, business or business casual clothing is acceptable. The following types of clothing are not suitable for court proceedings: shorts, tube tops, halter tops, clothing that contains any obscene, suggestive or inflammatory print or images, and clothes that are overly dirty or ragged.
Where to Park
Any metered stall on the streets surrounding the Courthouse and according to the parking map included with your summons.
Courthouse Security Information
Secure entrance is immediately behind the Courthouse on the NW side. Metal Detector requirement.
Jury Check-in Information
Please call 319-356-6060 after 4:45 p.m. the Monday evening before and up until 7:59 a.m. the day of your service date for reporting requirements. IF you are required to attend, please report to the Third Floor Lobby in the Courthouse, at the time indicated on the recording and to the front desk for check-in.
Absences / Emergencies
Please contact the Clerk of Court Office at 319-356-6060 Ext. 3051 as early as possible on your scheduled date if you are unable to attend because of an emergency or sickness. Anyone needing to contact a juror for an emergency should also call this number.
Travel, Mileage, and Other Expenses
Jurors are reimbursed for travel to and from residence to the courthouse at a rate of .45 per mile as approved by the supreme court.
Pursuant to state law, you will be paid $30 a day for each day of jury service up to seven days; $50 a day for eight or more days of service. You may waive the right to compensation, which will help reduce the state's cost of operating the court system.