Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Current Judicial Openings


The District Court Judges from Judicial Sub-District 8B conducted interviews on December 8, 2017, with candidates for the District Associate Judge vacancy, which was created when Judge Gary Noneman retired.

The District Court Judges discussed the candidates following the interviews and unanimously selected Clinton Boddicker, of Keokuk, as the next District Associate Judge for Sub-District 8B.

Mr. Boddicker graduated from the University of Northern Iowa with a Bachelor of Arts in 1993 and received his law degree “With High Distinction” from the University of Iowa College of Law in 1996.

He was an associate with the law firm of Dickey, Smith & Kultala in Keokuk from 1996 to 1998, when he became a partner with Smith, Kultala & Boddicker, LLP. He was a sole practitioner in Cedar Rapids from 2005 to 2006, at which time he returned to Keokuk to resume his partnership with the law firm of Smith, Kultala & Boddicker, LLP. Mr. Boddicker became a part-time Assistant Lee County Attorney in 2008. In 2011, he assumed the role of full-time First Assistant Lee County Attorney. In May of 2017, Mr. Boddicker was elected Lee County Attorney, which he held until being appointed to the District Associate Bench.

Mr. Boddicker is a member of the Iowa County Attorneys Association, National District Attorneys Association, American Bar Association, and South Lee County Bar Association.

Mr. Boddicker will assume his duties as District Associate Judge on January 5, 2018.


Nomination of District Associate Judge

A Magistrate Nominating Commission for District 8B met and held interviews on November 27, 2017 at the South Lee County Courthouse. 

In compliance with Section 602.6304 of the Iowa Code, the following persons were nominated for the office of District Associate Judge to serve in South Lee County: 

Clinton Boddicker
Jonathan Stensvaag
Steven Westercamp

The three persons nominated were certified to the Chief Judge.  The District Associate Judge will be selected from the three nominees by a majority vote of the District Judges of the 8B Judicial District after interviews to be held December 8, 2017. 


A vacancy will exist in the office of District Associate Judge for Lee County.  A commission has been formed, pursuant to Sections 602.6501 through 602.6504 of the Code of Iowa.  

The following candidates have submitted their applications.  
Kimberly A. Auge
Amy K. Beavers
Clinton R. Boddicker
Robert J. Reding
Lisa K. Schaefer
Jonathan M. Stensvaag
Steven J. Westercamp
The Commission will conduct interviews on Monday, November 27, 2017 at the South Lee County Courthouse, in Keokuk, Iowa.  
The Commission will certify to the Chief Judge of the Eighth Judicial District the names of three applicants who are nominated by the Commission for the vacancy.  The District Judges of Judicial Election District 8B (Des Moines, Henry, Lee and Louisa Counties) will then, interview the three candidates on Friday, December 8, 2017 and by majority vote, appoint one of those nominees to fill the vacancy.  

By: /s/ John Wright, Chair – Lee County
November 27, 2017




Public Notice is hereby given pursuant to §§ 602.6401 to 602.6405 of the Code of Iowa. The Judicial Magistrate Appointing commission for Washington County will meet in the Courtroom, Washington County Courthouse, Washington , Iowa at 9:00 a.m. on the 1st day of December, 2017, for the purpose of appointing one part-time magistrate for Washington County for the term beginning December 1, 2017 and ending July 31, 2021.

Pursuant to Iowa Code §602.6401 - 602.6405, the qualifications include:

1. Less than seventy-two years of age at the time of appointment;

2. An attorney admitted to practice law in Iowa, except a magistrate not licensed to practice law in Iowa and who was holding office on April 1, 2009, is eligible to be reappointed as a magistrate in the same county for subsequent successive terms (Iowa Code §602.6404(3)); and

3. A resident of the county of appointment or a resident of a county contiguous to the county of appointment during the magistrate’s term of office. Iowa Code §602.6108.

An application form may be obtained from the Washington County Clerk of Court, Courthouse, Washington, Iowa and will be provided to any person interested in making application for appointment as part-time Judicial Magistrate.

Applications should be completed and filed with the Washington County Clerk of District Court no later than 4:30 p.m. on the 27th day of November, 2017.

By Order of the Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commission.

The Honorable Shawn Showers Chairperson.

Dated this 27th day of October, 2017.

S/Judge Shawn Showers Chairperson

No jobs currently available.
© 2018 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.