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District Associate Judge. 

 

 Jerry Wayne Cunningham appeals from the district court’s restitution 

order.  AFFIRMED. 
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HUITINK, P.J. 

 On January 12, 2005, the trial court accepted Cunningham’s guilty plea to 

one count of attempted burglary.  Cunningham waived his right to file a motion in 

arrest of judgment, and the court immediately sentenced him to a two-year term 

of confinement and fined him $500 plus applicable surcharge and court costs.  

The State filed a statement of the victim’s pecuniary damages on December 20, 

2005.  On February 7, 2006, the trial court entered a ruling rejecting 

Cunningham’s challenge to the amount of restitution claimed and ordered 

Cunningham to pay $7175.50 restitution. 

 On appeal, Cunningham argues: 

I.  The trial court erred in imposing $7175.50 in restitution more 
than one year following the criminal judgment based upon a 
statement of pecuniary damages filed more than eleven months 
following the judgment. 
 

We review the trial court’s restitution order for errors of law.  State v. Bradley, 

637 N.W.2d 206, 210 (Iowa Ct. App. 2001). 

 Iowa Code section 910.3 provides: 

The county attorney shall prepare a statement of pecuniary 
damages to victims of the defendant . . . .  If pecuniary damage 
amounts are not available at the time of sentencing, the county 
attorney shall provide a statement of pecuniary damages incurred 
up to that time of the clerk of court.  The statement shall be 
provided no later than thirty days after sentencing.   

 
“If the victim’s damages continue to accrue at the time of sentencing, the court 

may defer the determination of a victim’s total entitlement until a later date.”  Id.  

“The main objective of the restitution statute is two-fold:  to protect the public and 

to rehabilitate the defendant.”  State v. Blakely, 534 N.W.2d 645, 648 (Iowa 

1995).  The State’s failure to comply with the thirty-day requirement does not bar 



 3

restitution.  See id.; State v. Blakely, 555 N.W.2d 221, 222 (Iowa 1996).  The 

State is nevertheless obliged “to promptly furnish the court, and the defendant, a 

statement of pecuniary damages . . . .”  Blakely, 555 N.W.2d at 222. 

 We must weigh the prejudice suffered by the defendant when the State 

does not comply with the thirty-day deadline.  Id.  Cunningham makes no claim 

that he was prejudiced by the State’s delayed filing of the statement of victim 

damages.  In the absence of any proof Cunningham was prejudiced, his 

challenge to the trial court’s restitution order fails.  Cunningham’s belated 

challenge to the trial court’s authority to enter a restitution order after the 

discharge of his sentence also fails, because that argument was not raised until 

he filed a reply brief on appeal.  See Sun Valley Iowa Lakes Ass’n v. Anderson, 

551 N.W.2d 621, 642 (Iowa 1996). 

 AFFIRMED. 

 


