Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Chief Judge Vogel Retirement Ceremony June 13, 2019

June 4, 2019

On Thursday, June 13, the Iowa Court of Appeals will hold a special ceremony to mark the retirement of Chief Judge Gayle Nelson Vogel. This public ceremony will be at 3:00 p.m. in the supreme court courtroom on the fourth floor of the Judicial Branch Building, 1111 E. Court Ave., Des Moines. Overflow seating will be available in the auditorium and elsewhere in the building. Chief Judge Vogel will retire July 1, 2019.

Chief Judge Vogel, Spirit Lake, was appointed to the Iowa Court of Appeals in 1996.  She took on the role of Chief Judge in January 2019.

Chief Judge Vogel was born in Rockford, Illinois, and graduated cum laude from Rockford College in 1971.  After teaching in Stockholm, Sweden, as well as Rockford, Illinois, she attended Drake University Law School, graduating in 1983, Order of the Coif.  She then worked in the private practice of law in Knoxville in what eventually became Johnson, Lane & Vogel, and served on the board of directors for several business and civic groups.  In 1994, she was awarded the Chamber of Commerce Business Woman of the Year Award.  Chief Judge Vogel is a member of The Iowa State Bar Association, having served on the Grievance Commission from 1988 - 1996.  As a member of the Iowa Judges Association, she served on the juvenile law committee and was co-chair of the Iowa Court Improvement Project for several years.  Chief Judge Vogel was instrumental in developing rules to expedite appeals in child dependency cases.

Media Advisory: The court will allow cameras and audio recording equipment in the courtroom subject to available space. If you wish to be present for the entire ceremony and have camera and recording equipment to install, please arrive twenty minutes in advance of the ceremony. If you wish to record only a portion of the proceedings inside the courtroom, please contact Steve Davis to make arrangements. The media room will also be open for use by the media.

For More Information:

Steve Davis
Communications Director
Iowa Judicial Branch

« Back

© 2021 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.