Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Commission Names Nominees for Iowa Supreme Court

January 30, 2019

After completing public interviews of all 19 applicants, the State Judicial Nominating Commission has selected a slate of three nominees to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Supreme Court that occurred upon Justice Daryl Hecht’s retirement December 13, 2018.

The nominees are:

Kellyann Lekar
Chief Judge
First Judicial District

Christopher McDonald
Court of Appeals Judge
Iowa Court of Appeals
Des Moines

Dustria Relph
District Court Judge
Fifth Judicial District

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has thirty days in which to make the appointment to the court from this slate of nominees. The application for each applicant and archived video of each of the applicant interviews is posted on the Judicial Branch website at: 

For More Information:

Contact: The State Judicial Nominating Commission through Steve Davis, Court Communication Director, (515) 348-4967 or

« Back

© 2020 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.