Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Critelli Selected as Incoming Director of Iowa Supreme Court Office of Professional Regulation

July 18, 2016

Des Moines, July 18, 2016— Nicholas (Tré) Critelli III, has been selected for appointment as the new Director of the Iowa Supreme Court Office of Professional Regulation. Critelli will replace Paul H. Wieck II when he retires on December 22 after nearly 15 years of service. Critelli has been serving as Assistant Director of the Office of Professional Regulation and as the staff attorney for the Iowa Judicial Branch's Education Division since 2014.

Critelli graduated from Loras College in 1988 and Drake University Law School in 1995. Prior to his appointment to the Office of Professional Regulation he served as assistant legal counsel for the Iowa Supreme Court Attorney Disciplinary Board. Critelli was in private practice in Iowa for fifteen years. He also worked overseas as a qualified English barrister. Critelli is a fellow of the Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers and an active member of The Iowa State Bar Association.

In 2007, the Iowa Supreme Court created the Office of Professional Regulation to align its regulation of three professional groups—Iowa lawyers, court reporters, and court interpreters—under a single administrative office. The Office of Professional Regulation provides administrative support for the Board of Law Examiners, Client Security Commission, Commission on Continuing Legal Education, Lawyer Trust Account Commission, Commission on the Unauthorized Practice of Law, Attorney Disciplinary Board, Grievance Commission and Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters.

The boards and commissions established by the supreme court are the key vehicle used to supervise Iowa lawyers, court reporters, and court interpreters. The boards and commissions regulate admission to the bar, continuing legal education requirements for lawyers, registration of in-house counsel, annual fees, IOLTA accounts and grants, attorney discipline, designation of certified shorthand reporters, continuing education for certified shorthand reporters, shorthand reporter discipline, and certification of court interpreters. Each of the boards and commissions is comprised of judges, lawyers or shorthand reporters, and members of the public. The boards and commissions oversee more than 9,600 active lawyers, 370 active shorthand reporters, and more than 80 court interpreters.

Paul H. Wieck II, has served as Director of the Office of Professional regulation since the position was created in December, 2007. He served as Executive Assistant to Chief Justice W. Ward Reynoldson from 1982 to 1983; was in private law practice in Osceola from 1982 to 1990 and 2000 to 2002; was Iowa Department of Public Safety Commissioner from 1990 to 1999; and Iowa Supreme Court Commissions Director from 2002 to 2007. He also served as a Regular U.S. Army Officer from 1973 to 1979, and retired from the Iowa Army Guard in 2002 with more than 29 years of military service, including four years as Deputy Commanding General, 34th Infantry Division.

Critelli will begin his duties December 23, 2016.

For More Information:

Steve Davis, Court Communications Director, (515)725-8058 or

Iowa Supreme Court 
1111 East Court Avenue 
Des Moines, IA 50319 

« Back

© 2020 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.