Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Iowa Supreme Court Justice Bruce Zager to retire

May 4, 2018

Des Moines, Iowa, May 4, 2018—Today, Iowa Supreme Court Justice Bruce B. Zager, Waterloo, announced his retirement effective September 3, 2018. Justice Zager’s judicial career spans 19 years, including 12 years on the district court bench. He began serving on the supreme court March 23, 2011.

"It has been my distinct honor and privilege to serve as the 110th justice in the 180 year history of the Iowa Supreme Court," Justice Zager said. "Under the exceptional leadership of Chief Justice Mark Cady, it has been particularly rewarding to be a part of a court system recognized as one of the best in the nation. I also want to acknowledge my colleagues on the court for their unfailing commitment to justice, and their genuine kindness and respect that they have shown me during my time on the court. Finally, I want to thank all of the employees of the judicial branch that I have had the privilege of working with over the many years. It is due to your tireless efforts that we have a court system that ensures justice for all."

Justice Zager was born and raised in Waterloo, Iowa. He earned his Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Iowa in 1975, his Master of Science degree in Industrial Relations from Loyola University of Chicago in 1977, and his law degree from Drake University Law School in 1980. Justice Zager was in private practice in Waterloo from 1981 to 1999, and was a member of the Black Hawk County Attorney’s Office from 1987 until his appointment to the Iowa District Court in 1999. He is married with three children and four grandchildren.  

“Justice Zager has been a very important part of the supreme court and he will be missed both as a clear-thinking, deliberative judge and as a good friend,” Chief Justice Mark Cady said. “As justices, we are responsible for the administration of the statewide judicial system and rulemaking. Justice Zager has played an essential part of providing justice to all Iowans by serving on the Iowa Supreme Court Public Outreach Steering Committee, the Committee on Expanded Media Coverage, and the Guardianship and Conservatorship Reform Task Force.” 

Under Iowa law, the vacancy that will occur upon Justice Zager’s retirement will be filled by appointment by the Governor from a list of three nominees, which will be submitted by the State Judicial Nominating Commission. For more information on the supreme court judicial nominating process, go to Judicial Vacancies.

For More Information:

Contact: Steve Davis, (515) 348-4967 or [email protected]

Iowa Supreme Court
 1111 E Court Avenue
 Des Moines, IA  50319

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.