Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Iowa Supreme Court Reselects Cady as Chief Justice

November 17, 2016

Des Moines, November 17, 2016 — The Iowa Supreme Court reselected Justice Mark Cady, Fort Dodge, as chief justice. Chief Justice Cady's current term on the court expires December 31, 2016. His new term begins January 1, 2017. A chief justice serves during his or her term of office which is eight years.

Chief Justice Cady is the most senior member of the court. He has served as a judge for 32 years, including 18 years on the Iowa Supreme Court. Justice Cady has served as chief justice since January 1, 2011. He was appointed to the court by Governor Terry Branstad.

"I am honored to continue to serve as Chief Justice of Iowa's court system," Chief Justice Cady said. "Justice is important to every Iowan, and our court system will continue to strive to provide all Iowans with the services they need and the justice they deserve. I am grateful for the confidence my colleagues have placed in me and for the devoted work of all judges, magistrates and court staff across the state."

In addition to judicial duties, the chief justice sets the court's oral argument schedule, assigns cases and administrative duties to each justice, delivers the state of the judiciary address to the legislature each January, and presides over the judicial council. Justice Cady will also continue to write opinions. He has written 325 majority opinions and 80 dissents and special concurrences while on the supreme court.

Justice Cady was born in Rapid City, South Dakota. He earned both his undergraduate and law degrees from Drake University. After graduating from law school in 1978, he served as a judicial law clerk for the Second Judicial District. He was then appointed as an assistant Webster County attorney and practiced with a law firm in Fort Dodge. Justice Cady was appointed a district associate judge in 1983 and a district court judge in 1986. In 1994, he was appointed to the Iowa Court of Appeals and was elected chief judge of the Court of Appeals in 1997. He was appointed to the supreme court in 1998.

For More Information:

Contact: Steve Davis, Court Communications Director, (515)725-8058 or

Iowa Supreme Court
1111 East Court Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319

« Back

© 2023 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.