Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Three Nominees Chosen for Iowa Court of Appeals vacancy

November 10, 2021

Seven Iowans applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals that will occur upon the retirement of Judge Michael Mullins.

The nominating commission met Wednesday, November 10, 2021, to interview the applicants for the vacancy.   Following the interviews, the commission deliberated and selected a slate of three nominees from the group of applicants and delivered the slate to the Governor. The nominees selected are:

Judge Mary Chicchelly, Cedar Rapids

William Miller, Des Moines

Mary Triick, Clive

The governor has thirty (30) days in which to appoint the new judge.

The 17-member commission is composed of eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa, and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. The names of the commissioners are on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commissions website.

For More Information:

Kathleen Law, Chair of the State Judicial Nominating Commission; 515-283-3116; [email protected]

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.