Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Three Nominees Chosen for Iowa Court of Appeals Vacancy

October 29, 2019

Eleven Iowans applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals that will occur when Judge Amanda Potterfield retires on December 25, 2019.

The nominating commission met Tuesday, October 29, 2019, to interview the applicants for the vacancy.   Following the interviews, the commission deliberated and selected a slate of three nominees from the group of applicants and delivered the slate to the Governor.  The nominees selected are:

Paul Ahlers, Fort Dodge

Mary Chicchelly, Cedar Rapids

Tim Gartin, Ames

The governor has thirty (30) days in which to appoint the new judge.

The 17-member commission is composed of, eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa, and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. The names of the commissioners are on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commissions website.

For More Information:

Contact: Trish Roberts, Chair of the State Judicial Nominating Commission; 712-830-9912;

« Back

© 2020 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.