Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Client Security Commission

The Client Security Commission manages a fund generated by contributions from Iowa lawyers and judges, and advises the court on policies involving the administration of the fund.  The purpose of the fund is to prevent defalcations by members of the lowa bar, and insofar as practicable, to provide indemnification by the profession for losses caused to the public by the dishonest conduct of members of the bar of this state.  The fund also separately administers the cost of administering the lawyer disciplinary system and other programs which impact the disciplinary system.  

Board Members

The commission is composed of seven members - five lowa lawyers and two lowa residents who are not lawyers. Members shall be appointed for a term of five years unless appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term. Members shall not serve more than two complete four-year terms.

Jennifer Clemens-Conlon, Dubuque, chair

JoAnn Barten, Ames, vice-chair

Kenneth Boeke, West Des Moines, treasurer

The Honorable Myron L. Gookin, Fairfield

Todd Geer, Grundy Center

Ann Powers, Fort Dodge

Joel Vos, Sioux City

Annual Reports

Each year the Grievance Commission and the Attorney Disciplinary Board issues a joint annual report concerning the their respective budgets, dispositions, compliance and relevant rule changes. The 2016 ABD and Grievance Commission Annual Report can be found by clicking here.

For More Information

Client Security Commission
Judicial Branch Building
1111 East Court Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa  50319
(515) 348-4670  

© 2018 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.