Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Commission on Continuing Legal Education

The Commission on Continuing Legal Education administers a program established by the court which requires attorneys to attend continuing legal education (CLE) classes each year. This requirement helps ensure that lawyers and judges keep abreast of the latest legal developments.

Commission Meetings and Members

The Commission meets twice a year to oversee the Continuing Legal Education Program in Iowa. At these meetings, the Commission reviews policies and procedures for administration of the CLE program as well as considers individual programs for accreditation. The Commission is composed of ten lawyer members and two non-lawyer members. All members are appointed by the Iowa Supreme Court for a term of three years except when appointed to fill an unexpired term. No member may serve more than two consecutive complete terms.

Attorney Members

Heather L. Palmer, Des Moines, Chair

Kristymarie Shipley, Cedar Rapids

Brandon R. Underwood, Des Moines,

Julie K. Foster, Council Bluffs

Leah D. Patton, Ames

Henry Hamilton III, West Des Moines

Chaney E. Yeast, Des Moines

Siobhan M. Schneider, West Des Moines

Paul G. Thelen, Iowa City

Robert R. Rigg, Des Moines

Non-Attorney Members

Heather Young, North Liberty

D. Suzanne Buffalo, Tama

Annual Reports

Each year the CLE Commission issues an annual report concerning the Commission's budget, accreditations and compliance.

The 2023 Annual CLE Report can be found here.


Contact Us

Commission on Continuing Legal Education
Judicial Branch Building
1111 East Court Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa  50319
(515) 348-4670
[email protected]

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.