Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Commission on Unauthorized Practice of Law

Iowans may suffer loss of money, property, or liberty as a result of the practice of law by persons who are not authorized to do so. To help prevent these losses and protect Iowa citizens, the Commission on the Unauthorized Practice of Law was established by the Supreme Court of Iowa. The Commission is charged with considering, investigating, and seeking the prohibition of the unauthorized practice of law. 

Common circumstances that may involve the unauthorized practice of law include:

  • Nonlawyers performing legal services in Iowa

  • Nonlawyers holding out to the public that they are qualified to provide legal services

  • Licensed Iowa attorneys performing legal services in Iowa while their licenses are inactive, suspended, or revoked

  • Lawyers from other states performing legal services in Iowa matters without authority to do so

Commission Meetings and Members

The Commission meets quarterly to monitor and address UPL allegations. The Commission is composed of seven lawyer members and two non-lawyer members. All members are appointed by the Iowa Supreme Court for a term of three years except when appointed to fill an unexpired term. No member may serve more than three complete terms.

Attorney Members

Jasmina Sarajlija, Des Moines, Chair

Elizabeth Van Arkel, Des Moines

William Brauch, Des Moines

Shawn Smith, Ames

Jim Kringlen, Iowa City

Lance Lange, Des Moines

Bret Larson, Davenport

Non-attorney Members

Adam Stark, Muscatine

Robin Norris, Altoona

Reporting the Unauthorized Practice of Law

For a more detailed overview of what may constitute the unauthorized practice of law and to file a complaint and to get the form, visit the Complaints page.

Contact Us

Commission on the Unauthorized Practice of Law
Judicial Branch Building
1111 East Court Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa  50319
(515) 348-4670
[email protected]

Rules Pertaining to the Commission

Iowa Court Rules Chapters 37-38

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.