Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Lawyers Trust Account Commission

The Lawyer Trust Account Commission manages a fund generated from interest on the pooled trust accounts of attorneys. Lawyers' pooled trust accounts hold client funds that are so small or held for such a brief period that it is not possible for the funds to economically benefit the individual client. Prior to the creation of the program, these accounts earned no interest. The fund is used to support civil legal services to the poor. Funds are disbursed to charitable and educational programs through grants. For more information contact

Commission Meeting and Members

The Commission meets twice a year to review the status of IOLTA remittances, grantee reports and to consider new grant applications. The commission is composed of seven members--four Iowa lawyers and three Iowa residents who are not lawyers. The members are appointed by the Iowa Supreme Court for terms of three years except for appointments to fill vacancies of unexpired terms. No member shall serve more than two terms. 

Hon. Lars Anderson, Iowa City, Chair

Marion E. James, Creston

Jenna L. Green, West Des Moines 

Marti D. Nerenstone, Council Bluff

Dr. Jane Agyeman, Ames

Paul Martin, Clive 

Jay East, Garner 

Annual Reports

Each year the Lawyer Trust Account Commission issues an annual report concerning the Commission's budget, remittances, recommendations and relevant rule changes. The 2021 LTAC Annual Report and Recommendation can be found here.

For More Information

Lawyer Trust Account Commission 
Judicial Branch Building
1111 East Court Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(515) 348-4670  

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.