Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Attorneys

Filing Season Notification

The 2019 filing season has begun. Annual reports are due on or before March 10, 2019. Active attorneys and judges will file a CLE report upon which they will record the CLE they attended in calendar year 2018. There is a 15 hour general CLE requirement. There is no ethics requirement for 2018. Attorneys who were admitted in 2018 do not have a CLE requirement but must file a report. The CLE administrative fee has been increased to $20. Active attorneys and judges will also need to file a Client Security report. In most cases there will be a $200 disciplinary system fee and $50 Client Security Trust Fund fee. Attorneys in Exempt status will need to pay at $50 annual exemption fee.

Go here to file: www.iacourtcommissions.org.

If you are interested in becoming an Iowa attorney, then we welcome you to our bar. You'll likely want to start with the following webpages:

  • Those of you already licensed in another jurisdiction will find the following pages will be of use:

    • Pro Hac Vice Applications are for use when you are seeking temporary admission to Iowa's courts for a single matter;

    • International Legal Consultants are for those of you who are licensed overseas and wish to advise Iowans on your country's laws;

    • In-House Counsel Admission is something you need to do if you are a lawyer working as an employee for a non-legal services Iowa based employer; and

    • Admission on Motion is what you need to do if you are licensed in a different jurisdiction and want to "waive" in without taking the bar examination.

If you are already an Iowa attorney, then you have definitely come to the right place!

© 2019 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.