Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Board of Shorthand Reporters

The Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters administers the examination and certification process for shorthand reporters in Iowa. The board also administers continuing education requirements and disciplinary actions with respect to shorthand reporters. The board advises the court on policies regarding shorthand reporting in Iowa. Please contact us for more information. 

Board Members

The board is composed of five members – three certified shorthand reporters and two members representing the general public. Members are appointed for a term of three years unless appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term. Members shall not serve more than three terms or nine years, whichever is less. The following persons currently serve on the board:

  • Brenda J. Ellefson, CSR, Chair

  • The Honorable Brendan Greiner

  • Kara Holland, CSR

  • Rachel Waterhouse Schwalm, CSR

  • James T. Fitzsimmons, Mason City

Notice of Board Meeting Dates

The Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters holds regular meeting twice each year, on the day preceding administration of the complete examination. See CSR announcements page for more details.

Rules Regarding Certified Shorthand Reporters

Rules pertaining to certified shorthand reporters now appear at chapter 46 of the Iowa Court Rules. Fees payable with respect to reports and several kinds of applications were changed in 2008. The complete chapter 46 is available here:  Chapter 46 

© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.