
Frequently Asked Questions 
 

1) I missed the deadline of January 15 of the first year attending an accredited law school to submit my Law 
Student Registration form.  Can I still apply for the bar exam? 

 
Yes. You may still apply.  However, unless you have already been admitted in another jurisdiction, you 
are required to fill out the Law Student Registration form before your bar application will be processed.  
NOTE: Any Law Student Registration submitted after the deadline must be accompanied by a $150.00 
fee or a $250 fee, depending on how late the registration is. 

 
2) I will not have a passing MPRE score on file by the time of the bar exam application deadline.  Can I still 

apply to take the bar exam? 
 

Yes.  However, in order to do so, you must submit a petition requesting the Iowa Supreme Court to grant 
you leave to provide a late MPRE score.  There is no sample form for this petition.  The petition should 
indicate all information regarding how you plan to fulfill the requirement, such as listing the date you are 
registered for the next MPRE examination and when the results will be available. 

 
3) I want to take my examination on a laptop computer.  Do I need to register and include the laptop fee in 

my application? 
 

No.  The application must include an intention to utilize or not utilize the laptop option by answering 
Question 26 on the application.  After the bar application deadline, further information will be emailed to 
each applicant who chose the laptop option detailing laptop registration and payment information. 

 
4) The affidavit of intent to practice and the release form included with the application require me to list a 

county.  What county do I use? 
 

Use the county where you currently reside. 
 

5) I submitted my bar application, but have not received notice that that my application was received.  Was 
my application received? 

 
No receipt is sent to confirm the arrival of your application package.  For documentation, you may choose 
a delivery system which offers tracking and requires a signature for delivery.  You may also file your 
application personally, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. business days.  You will be contacted in writing if further 
information is required.  KEEP A COPY OF YOUR APPLICATION. 

 
6)  I submitted my bar application.  How will I know if I can sit for the bar examination? 

 
Letters advising applicants as to whether they are eligible to sit for the exam are scheduled to go out one 
month prior to the exam.  These letters include the dates, times, location and rules of conduct for the Iowa 
bar exam. 

 
7) I am preparing to send my bar application.  Do I need to send an official transcript from my law schoool? 
 

No.  No transcript, official or unofficial, is necessary to file the bar application.  Instead, applicants are 
required to have an Affidavit of the Dean of the Law School on file with the Office of Professional 
Regulation.  The affidavit is included in the application materials. 

 
8) Do I need to submit a fingerprint card with my application?  If so, how do I obtain a fingerprint card? 
 

Yes. A fingerprint card is a necessary component of the application materials.  If you are unable to obtain 
a fingerprint card, please email Bar.Admissions@iowacourts.gov and include your name and mailing 
address.  A fingerprint card will be mailed to you. 

 
9) I have passed the bar exam in another state and wish to transfer my Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) 

score to Iowa.  Is that allowed? 
 

No. Iowa no longer allows applicants to transfer or bank an MBE score from a prior examination.  All 
applicants for admission by examination must take all parts of the exam. 
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10) I have already filed my application but have yet to take the examination.  A change needs to be made to 

my application.  What should I do? 
 

If any changes occur after the application is filed that affect the applicant’s answers, the applicant must 
amend the application by a letter to the Office of Professional Regulation or email to 
bar.admissions@iowacourts.gov. 

 
11) I missed the bar application filing deadline by a day or two.  Can I still file the application? 

 
No.  Any application not received or postmarked by the posted deadline date will be rejected.  This is a 
firm deadline and will not be waived.  In the event that the deadline falls on a weekend, the application 
must be received or postmarked by the next business day immediately following the deadline. 

 
12) I am admitted in another jurisdiction and am applying for the Iowa exam.  Do I need a certificate of good 

standing from the state I am currently licensed in? 
 

Yes.  All applicants admitted in another jurisdiction MUST submit from each state of admittance a 
certificate of good standing.  Normally, the Clerk of Supreme Court in the admitting jurisdiction can 
provide this.  Certificates must be on file no later than 60 days prior to the examination. 

 
13) I paid the application fee and now have decided not to take the examination. Is my exam fee refundable or 

may I transfer the fee to another later exam application? 
 

No.  Each application must be accompanied by the fee.  This fee if non-refundable and cannot be applied 
to a subsequent application.  Once the application fee is submitted, you will not receive it back under any 
circumstances and will not be able to apply it to another examination. 

 


