CHAPTER 23 TIME STANDARDS FOR CASE PROCESSING

ed Civil
t

CHAPTER 23 TIME STANDARDS FOR CASE PROCESSING

Rule 23.1 Time standards — **considerations.** The time standards contained in this chapter are subject to statutes and rules affecting the same proceedings.

Rule 23.2 Trial scheduling time standards. The time standards commence from the time a case is filed except in indictable criminal cases where the time shall be measured from date the trial information or indictment is filed.

23.2(1) Court administration shall schedule cases to commence trial within the following time standards:

a. Indictable Criminal	6 months
b. Simple Misdemeanors	4 months
c. Expedited Civil Actions	12 months
d. Torts (all except "complex civil")	18 months
e. Complex Civil	24 months
f. Other Law & Equity	12 months
g. Domestic—Dissolution & Modification	9 months
h. Domestic Abuse	2 months
i. Domestic—All Other	6 months
j. Small Claims & Infractions	4 months

23.2(2) If a party shows good cause for exceeding the trial time standards in rule 23.2(1), a court may order an extension of the time for trial to commence using the standards below as guidelines:

a. Indictable Criminal	12 months
b. Simple Misdemeanors	6 months
c. Expedited Civil Actions	15 months
<u>d.</u> Torts (all except "complex civil")	24 months
e. Complex Civil	36 months
<u>f.</u> Other Law & Equity	18 months
g. Domestic—Dissolution & Modification	15 months
h. Domestic Abuse	4 months
i. Domestic—All Other	12 months
j. Small Claims & Infractions	8 months

Rule 23.3 Estate time standards. Except for good cause shown, estates opened shall be closed within the following time standards:

а.	Estates w/o admin. & small	100% in 6 months
b.	Estates with full admin.	85% in 24 months
		100% in 36 months

Rule 23.4 Juvenile standards.

23.4(1) Detention and shelter hearings:

a. From detention facility admission to hearing	24 hours ¹
<i>b</i> . From admission to shelter care facility pursuant to Iowa Code section 232.21 court order to hearing	48 hours ¹
23.4(2) Pre-adjudicatory hearings for physical and mental health examinations:	
a. From court ordered admission to detention or shelter care facility to hearing	15 days
b. From filing, if juvenile is not in detention or shelter care facility, to hearing	30 days
23.4(3) Adjudicatory hearings:	
a. From court ordered admission to detention or shelter care facility to hearing	15 days
b. From filing, if juvenile is not in detention or shelter care facility, to hearing	30 days
c. From entry of order for physical or mental examination to hearing	45 days
23.4(4) Dispositional hearings:	
a. From entry of adjudicatory order to hearing, if juvenile is:	
In a detention or shelter care facility	30 days
Not in a detention or shelter care facility	40 days
<i>b</i> . From court ordered placement for physical or mental examination, following a delinquency or CINA adjudication, to hearing	60 days
23.4(5) Termination of parental rights (Iowa Code chapter 232):	
a. From filing to hearing	60 days
b. From filing to disposition	5 mos.

^{1.} Excluding Saturday, Sunday, and legal holidays