## Notice of Pending Elections For State Judicial Nominating Commissioners

The following individuals are currently serving as State Judicial Nominating Commissioners, and their terms will be expiring on June 30, 2023: Dorothy O'Brien (Congressional District One), Henry Bevel (Congressional District Two), and John Gray (Congressional District Four). The person to be elected in District One shall be a female, the person to be elected in District Two shall be a male, and the person to be elected in District Four shall be a male. *See* lowa Code § 46.2. The next term for these positions will begin on July 1, 2023 and expire on June 30, 2029.

The counties in Congressional District One are Cedar, Clinton, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Mahaska, Marion, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, Warren and Washington.

The counties in Congressional District Two are Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Grundy, Hardin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Poweshiek, Tama, Winneshiek and Worth.

The counties in Congressional District Four are Audubon, Boone, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Carroll, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Franklin, Fremont, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Marshall, Mills, Monona, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury and Wright.

This is to notify the public that elections will be held in January 2023 to fill these positions on the State Judicial Nominating Commission.

Individuals who wish to serve on the State Judicial Nominating Commission are not required to be attorneys, but must meet certain legal requirements. In addition, to have their name placed on the election ballot, individuals must file their completed nominating petition with State Court Administration no later than **December 31, 2022**. The nominating petition must have the signatures of at least ten eligible electors of the congressional district the candidate seeks to represent.

Click <u>HERE</u> if you wish to obtain a nominating petition, and then follow the instructions included with the petition regarding how to complete the petition and submit it.

The State Court Administrator will conduct the elections, and eligible attorneys shall have the ability to vote. See Iowa Code Chapter 46 for specific information about voting eligibility.

## Voting by eligible attorneys will begin January 6, 2023.

Election winners shall be notified, and the election results shall be reported to the Governor and the General Assembly and published on the judicial branch website.

The above is a summary of the nomination and election process. If you wish to learn more, or if you are interested in becoming a member of the State Judicial Nominating Commission, you should carefully read Article V, sections 15 and 16 of the Iowa Constitution and Iowa Code Chapter 46 so you fully understand all the details of the nomination and election process, and the requirements for running for, or voting for, the position of commissioner. You may also find additional information on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commissions website at https://www.iowajnc.gov/.

Robert D. Gast State Court Administrator December 1, 2022