Skip to main content
Iowa Judicial Branch
Main Content

Case No. 17-1023

State of Iowa
Iowa District Court for Jones County

The State of Iowa’s petition for writ of certiorari and motion for stay were granted after the district court granted in part Marshall Miller’s application for postconviction relief. The district court determined that the 2016 Iowa Department of Corrections’ policy change that deems a person who fails to complete sexual offender treatment ineligible to accrue any earned time, was in violation of the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution and ordered the restoration of his earned time credit. The State argues Miller’s ex post facto claims should be rejected because the policy change was foreseeable and corrects the misapplication of existing law.

Trial Court Case No.:


State of Iowa


Iowa District Court for Jones County

Attorneys for the Plaintiff

Jeffrey S. Thompson
John B. McCormally
H. Loraine Wallace

Attorney for the Defendant

Philip B. Bears

Supreme Court

Oral Argument Schedule


Sep 20, 2017 9:30 AM


Supreme Court Opinion

Opinion Number:
Date Published:
Oct 13, 2017
Date Amended:
Dec 18, 2017
© 2024 Iowa Judicial Branch. All Rights Reserved.